Ghajnsielem through to FA Trophy second round after penalty shoot-out

Ghajnsielem were the last team to secure a place in the second round of the FA Trophy sponsored by Boost Diesel after defeating Third Division side Kirkop United on penalties at the Centenary Stadium on Wednesday.

Neil Cutajar put Kirkop ahead on the 23rd minute but a strike by Alberto Xuereb five minutes from time forced extra-time. Three minutes in the first half of extra-time Shaun Bajada put the Blacks ahead but two minutes in added time at the end of the second half of extra-time, Kirkop were awarded a penalty and Michael Theuma made no mistake from the penalty spot.

The penalty shoot-out therefore had to determine which team would make it to the next round. Karl Caruana, Matthew Cassar, Mark Spiteri, Michael Theuma, Davide Mula, Ryan Damato and Glenn Camilleri scored for Kirkop while Kenneth Mercieca, Jhon Jairo Sandobal, Phil Taylor, Everton Felipe da Silva Santos, Shaun Bajada, Dylan Mercieca, Daniel Atzori and Josiah Buttigieg scored for Ghajnsielem to give the Blacks a 10-9 win.

In the second round, Ghajnsielem will be facing First Division side Melita.