Eleven Premier League players suspended

Eleven Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

Alex da Paixao Alves (Balzan), Steve Pisani (Floriana), Jackson de Lima Siqueira and Joseph Essien Mbong (Hibs), Patrick Borg (Lija), Dexter Xuereb (Mosta), Tristan Grant and Adrian Borg (St. Andrews), Eduard Calin, Ricardo Silva Faria and Antonio Mitrev (Tarxien) are therefore ruled out of the matches in programme on January 26-28.

Tarxien therefor could not count on Mitrev, Calin and Ricardinho for the clash with Mosta who will be lacking Dexter Xuereb. Jackson Lima and Mbong are ruled out of the clash with Gzira while Luxol’s Grant and Borg and Floriana’s Pisani are ruled out of St. Andrews vs Floriana. Patrick Borg skips the next game for Lija against Naxxar while Alex da Paixao Alves misses Balzan’s next clash with Hamrun.

In Division 1, Yannick Yankam (Qormi), Shawn Cesare (Zabbar) and Elland Vella (Zejtun) were all suspended for one match.

Luca Martinelli and Dormond Micallef (Attard), Joshua Barbara (Fgura), Christopher Cuschieri (Kalkara), Wayne Cuschieri and Gabriel Buttigieg (Luqa), Lazar Doric and Neil Scerri (Mgarr) were handed a one-match ban in Division 2. Attard kit manager Edward Catania was banned for two matches.

In Division 3, Matthew Barbara and Matthew Sciortino (Marsaskala), Scott Stewart (Msida) and Nigel Vella (Ta’ Xbiex) were suspended for one match.