Nominees for MFPA Awards 2018 released

The MFPA Awards 2018 will be held on the 23rd April at the Xara Lodge. For the first time ever, it will be streamed live on MFPA’s Facebook page.

Following an exciting and compelling football season, the Awards will see players vote for their peers in a ceremony that will culminate with the MFPA Best Player Award.

A panel of coaches from the Premier League were enlisted to finalise the list of nominees. Only those who played a minimum of 1350 minutes up until the 23rd week of the season were eligible to be nominated for the MFPA best XI award, and only those who played a minimum of 900 minutes up until the 23rd week of the season were eligible to be nominated for the MFPA Best Young Players award.

The following is the complete list of nominees:
MFPA Best Young Players Awards

Best Young – Goal Keeper
Jake Galea – Hamrun Spartans F.C.
Philip Schranz – Birkirkara F.C.
Andreas Vella – Mosta F.C.

Best Young – Defender
Jean Borg – Valletta F.C.
Michael Johnson – Balzan F.C.
Kurt Zammit – Birkirkara F.C.

Best Young – Midfielder
Jake Grech – Birkirkara F.C.
Michele Sansone – Sliema Wanderers F.C.
Dunstan Vella – Hibernians F.C.

Best Young – Forward
Zachary Brincat – Mosta F.C.
Jurgen Degabriele – Hibernians F.C.
Kyrian Nwoko – Valletta F.C.


Henry Bonello – Valletta F.C.
Andrew Hogg – Hibernians F.C.
Christoph Nicht – Naxxar Lions F.C.

Right Back
Roderick Briffa – Gzira United F.C.
Alex Cini – Floriana F.C.
Enmy Peña Beltre – Valletta F.C.

Left Back
Thiago Espindola – Hamrun Spartans F.C.
Thomas Veronese – Mosta F.C.
Joseph Zerafa – Valletta F.C.

Centre Back
Andrei Agius – Hibernians F.C.
Stefano Bianciardi – Sliema Wanderers F.C.
Steve Borg – Valletta F.C.
Ryan Camilleri – Valletta F.C.
Enrico Pepe – Floriana F.C.
Elkin Serrano – Balzan F.C.

Mislav Andjelkovic – Birkirkara F.C.
Andrew Cohen – Gzira United F.C.
Carlos Eduardo de Fiori Mendes – Balzan F.C.
Paul Fenech – Balzan F.C.
Jake Grech – Birkirkara F.C.
Uros Ljubomirac – Balzan F.C.
Santiago Malano – Valletta F.C.
Matias Muchardi – Sliema Wanderers F.C.
Maurizio Vella – Floriana F.C.

Carlos Alberto da Silva – Birkirkara F.C.
Alex da Paixao Alves – Balzan F.C.
Yuri de Jesus Messias – Naxxar Lions F.C.
Mario Fontanella – Floriana F.C.
Raed Ibrahim Saleh – Valletta F.C.
Bojan Kaljevic – Balzan F.C.
Matteo Piciollo – Valletta F.C.
Amadou Samb – Gzira United F.C.
Ricardo Silva Faria – Tarxien Rainbows F.C.