Andrew Cohen claims Footballer of the Year award in MFA Awards 2018

Andrew Cohen of Gzira United won the Footballer of the Year award for 2017/18 during the MFA Awards which was held at the Mediterranean Conference Centre on Friday.

The former Hibernians player therefore established a record four wins of this award after winning it in 2005, 2006 and 2015.

The Maroons also won the Best Foreigner Award thanks to Amadou Samb while Darren Abdilla was voted Coach of the Year.

Birkirkata’s Jake Grech was voted Best Young Player while Valletta striker Matteo Piciollo’s goal in the FA Trophy semi-final against Balzan earned him the Best Goal Award. Valletta FC won the new Best Fans award.

The complete list of winners were:

MFA Footballer of the Year Andrew Cohen (Gzira)

Coach of the Year Darren Abdilla (Gzira)

Young Player of the Year Jake Grech (Birkirkara)

Foreign Player of the Year Amadou Samb (Gzira)

Best Goal of the Year Matteo Piciollo (Valletta) vs Balzan

BOV First Division Best Player Dylan Agius (Pietà)

BOV Second Division Best Player Sebastian Perdomo (Santa Lucia)

BOV Third Division Best Player Edward John Wileman (Sta. Venera)

BOV Women’s League Best Player Dorianne Theuma (Hibs)

Best Youth League Player Jan Busuttil (Pietà)

GFA Player of the Year Christian Mercieca (Victoria Hotspurs)

Futsal Player of the Year Jovica Milijic (Valletta)

Best Fans Award Valletta FC

President’s Award Brian Meilak and Louis Micallef

Awards by MFA Referees Department Sammy Attard and Antonio Briguglio

Top Scorers

BOV Premier League Amadou Samb (Gzira) 21 goals

BOV First Division League Paul Chimezie (Mqabba) 24 goals

BOV Second Division League Timothy Thomas (Kalkara) 24 goals

BOV Third Division League Edward John Wileman (Sta. Venera) 27 goals

BOV Women’s League Dorianne Theuma (Hibernians) 22 goals

Fair Play Award Pieta Hotspurs