Third successive title for Birkirkara girls

Birkirkara won a third successive BOV Women’s League championship and the eighth league title in the history of the club after they claimed the point they needed in a 2-2 draw with Hibernians at the Centenary Stadium on Tuesday.

Alishia Sultana put the Stripes ahead on the 9th minute and a Stephanie Farrugia penalty six minutes later doubled the score. However Shona Zammit pulled one back on the 39th and Dorianne Theuma notched the equaliser on the 83rd.

On Monday, Mgarr United defeated Kirkop United 4-0 at the Mgarr Ground, courtesy of Abigail Camilleri on the 18th, Amber Grech on the half-hour, Charlene Cassia four minutes in the second half and Brenda Borg on the 70th minute.

In Section B, Raiders (Luxol) registered a 3-1 win over Fgura United at the Fgura Ground on Monday. Janice Pace put Fgura ahead after just one minute but Emma Ciantar Piccinino equalised on the 16th, Leanne Micallef made it 2-1 three minutes in the second half and Thea Difesa sealed the issue with a goal on the 65th.

On Wednesday, Swieqi United defeated Mosta 2-1 at the Mgarr Ground. Martina Fenech put Mosta ahead on the 27th minute but goals by Janice Spiteri on the 88th and Daniela Farrugia on the 89th handed Swieqi the three points.