Pietà Hotspurs triumph in Under-17, Under-15 leagues

The Pietà Hotspurs FC Academy had a most successful season after winning Section A in both the Under-17 and Under-15 leagues organised by the Youth Football Association. Both teams remained unbeaten throughout their league campaign.

In the Under-17 League Section A, the Hotspurs finished top in Section A on 36 points, eight points ahead of runners-up San Gwann, followed by Melita, Valletta, Paola Hibernians and St. Andrews. Mosta and Zebbug Rangers were relegated.

Hamrun Spartans won Section B, finishing just two points ahead of second-placed Balzan. Birkirkara placed third ahead of Floriana, Qormi and Swieqi United. Tarxien Rainbows and Sliema Wanderers were relegated.

In Section C, Zabbar St. Patrick and Kirkop United ended their commitments on top on level points with Zabbar emerging as winners after defeating Kirkop 4-3 in a decider. Rabat Ajax placed third, followed by Mellieha, Luqa St. Andrew’s and Pembroke Athleta. Zejtun Corinthians and Msida St. Joseph were relegated.

Naxxar Lions won Section D ahead of runners-up Marsaskala, Attard, Marsaxlokk, Sirens and Lija Iklin. Mqabba and Mgarr United were relegated.

In Section E, Mtarfa emerged as winners ahead of runners-up Fgura United. Gzira United placed third, followed by Xghajra Tornados, Sta. Venera United, Ghaxaq and Marsa.

In the Under-15 League Section A, the Hotspurs were clear winners after finishing nine points clear of runners-up St. Andrews. Following them were San Gwann, Valletta, Paola Hibs and Mosta. Gozo and Balzan were relegated.

Hamrun Spartans won Section B, finishing seven points ahead of runners-up Zabbar St. Patrick. Birkirkara placed third following by Qormi, Melita and Attard.Zebbug Rangers and Sliema Wanderers were relegated. 

In Section C, Floriana emerged as winners with Kirkop United finishing as runners-up. Sirens placed third followed by Pembroke Athleta, Lija Iklin and Swieqi United. Tarxien Rainbows and Naxxar Lions were relegated.

Marsaxlokk won Section D, followed by runners-up Mtarfa, Luqa St. Andrew’s, Fgura United, Mgarr United and Rabat Ajax. Sta. Venera United and Mellieha were relegated.

Section E was divided in two. In Section E1, Marsaskala finished top ahead of Birzebbuga Windmill, Msida St. Joseph, Mqabba and Zejtun Corinthians while in Section E2, Ghaxaq placed first ahead of Xghajra Tornados, Siggiewi, Gzira United and Zurrieq. In the Section E decider, Ghaxaq defeated Marsaskala 4-1.