Valletta claim Futsal Super Cup

The futsal 2019/20 season kicked-off on Friday as Valletta FC Futsal were crowned Super Cup winners as they beat double winners Luxol St Andrews Futsal Club 7-3 at the National Sport School Sport Pavillion in Pembroke, which will host all the Elite matches this season.

This season Valletta revamped their squad with the new acquisitioned players and the new technical staff led by head coach Carlo Scicluna and Christian Micallef as his assistant. On the other hand, Luxol had a busy summer and after finishing the Preliminary Round mini-tournament of the UEFA Futsal Champions League, they are preparing for their Main Round commitments.

Captain Jovica Milijic put Valletta ahead on the 2nd minute but Luxol captain Mark Zammit equalised on the 11th. Valletta were quick to regain the led through Mohamed Elmari on the 12th and a minute later, Gia Nikashvili made it 3-1. 

In the second minute of the second half, Luxol went close with a direct freekick taken by Celino Alves who hit the post. Less than a minute later, Nikvashvili took advantage from an Alves mistake and scored the fouth goal by a fierce shot from a close distance. A few seconds later, Andy Mangion scored a second goal for Luxol.

Luxol coach Gabriel Dobre chose the risky tactic of adding an additional player by introducing Celino Alves as the flying keeper. With the remaining six minutes of play, it was time for Mohammed Lamari to score the Valletta’s fifth goal. A minute later, Marwan Telisi was sent off for Luxol as he received the second yellow card during this match. Dusan Rakic was also sent off for Valletta.

The Citizens scored two quickfire goals in the final stages. First it was Valletta goalkeeper Brandon Debono who scored from side to side in an empty net and Lamari sealed a personal brace.

With only 45 seconds remaining, Giancarlo Sammut scored Luxol’s third goal.

After the final whistle, the two sets of players and the match officials were presented with mementos while Valletta captain Jovica Milijic was presented with the cup to the joy of the rest of the players, team officials and supporters.