FA Trophy: Birkirkara edge past Nadur

Birkirkara had to wait until the 90th minute to score the winning goal in order to beat Nadur Youngsters. On the other hand, Floriana and Mosta found no difficulty in beating Melita and Rabat Ajax respectively while Xewkija Tigers secured a place in the fourth round thanks to a fine win over Mgarr United.

At the National Stadium, Federico Falcone scored the all-important goal on the 90th minute as Birkirkara defeated Gozitan First Division leaders Nadur Youngsters 1-0 to set up a fourth round clash with Mosta.

B’KARA Andrew Hogg, Enrico Pepe, Matthew Guillaumier, Edison Luis dos Santos (66’ Michael Mifsud), Maurizio Vella, Kurt Zammit, Roderick Briffa, Federico Falcone, Caio Henrique Prado (90’ Yannick Yankam), Oscar Matias Carniello, Isaac Noah Ntow.

NADUR Steve Sultana, Gennaro Hili, Luke Tabone, Ian Xuereb, Predrag Djordjevic,  Marcelo Junior Barbosa, Shaun Attard, Stefan Cassar, Elkin Serrano Valero, Hugo Santa Rosa Cruz, Emerson Marcelina.

Referee: Alan Mario Sant
Assistant Referees: Roberto Vella, Ivan Galea
Fourth Official: Trustin Farrugia Cann

BOV Premier League leaders Floriana found no difficulty in beating Second Division side Melita 6-1.

Augusto Rene Caseres scored on the 20th and the 34th to hand Floriana a two-goal lead and Tiago Adan Fonseca made it 3-0 five minutes later. Just before the end of the first half, Diego Venancio da Silva converted a penalty for the Greens’ fourth goal. Melita reduced the gap through Jean Pierre Attard three minutes in the second half. Brandon Paiber restored the four goal lead on the 73rd and two minutes later, Clyde Borg added another.

Floriana take on Senglea Athletic in the fourth round.

FLORIANA Justin Spiteri, Moustapha Muhamadou Beye, Enzo Ruiz (76’ Terence Vella), Diego Venancio (46’ Matias Garcia), Clyde Borg, Brandon Paiber, Jurgen Pisani, Augusto Rene Caseres, Edward Herrera, Jan Busuttil, Tiago Adan Fonseca (46’ Bradley Sciberras).

MELITA Lawrence Cauchi, Matthew Portelli, Christian Bajada, Michael Cachia, Jean Pierre Attard, Isaac Zammit (73’ Fabien Lufi), Axl Xuereb (67’ Liam Reno Gatt), Julian Abela, Noel Omondi, Daniel Claridge, Karl Mohnani.

Referee: Malcolm Spiteri
Assistant Referees; Jurgen Spiteri, Paul Apap
Fourth Official: Mario Apap

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Mosta defeated Second Division side Rabat Ajax 7-0.

Mosta took the lead on the 14th minute thanks to Matias Muchardi. Zachary Brincat doubled the score on the 27th and two minutes from the end of the first half, Dexter Xuereb made it 3-0. Zachary Brincat increased the lead four minutes in the second half and six minutes later, Jean Barthelemy Diouf scored Mosta’s fifth. Diouf added another on the 75th. Zachary Brincat completed his hat-trick with a goal ten minutes from time.

In the fourth round, Mosta will face Birkirkara.

RABAT Andrew Zammit, Mark Borg, Immy Micallef (54′ Dylan Falzon), Joseph Caruana (54′ Mark Spiteri), Larens Vella, Aidan Azzopardi, Kurt Muscat, Javier Jimenez, Kurt Camilleri, Sean Abela, Zachary Tanti.

MOSTA Andreas Vella, David Ifeanyi Nworah, Weverton Gomes (58′ Duane Bonnici), Dexter Xuereb, Kyle Gatt, Jean Barthelemy Diouf, Tyrone Farrugia, David James Brown (58′ Christian Grech), Sergio Leonardo Villareal, Matias Muchardi, Zachary Brincat.

Referee: Stefan Pace
Assistant Referees: Duncan Sultana, Darko Stankovic
Fourth Official: Fyodor Zammit

At the Gozo Stadium, Xewkija Tigers defeated Second Division side Mgarr United 5-2.

Jose Carlos Nogueira Junior put Xewkija ahead on the 8th minute but Kenneth Aquilina equalised three minutes from the end of the first half.

Xewkija regained the lead through Jackson de Lima Siqueira seven minutes in the second half and Milos Stojanovic increased the lead on the 78th. Lyden Micallef reduced the gap on the 84th minute but goals by Claudio Antunes Pavlidis on the 86th and Milos Stojanovic on the 93rd sealed the issue for the Tigers.

In the fourth round, Xewkija will be facing Pieta’ Hotspurs.

XEWKIJA Leonard Camilleri, Edafe Christopher Uzeh, Jackson de Lima Siqueira, Claudio Antunes Pavlidis, Rodney Buttigieg, Jose Carlos Nogueira Junior, Martin Hrubsa, Joseph Cefai Bonnici (46′ Manuel Tabone), Dylan Mercieca, Claudio Daniel Frances (72′ Michael Camilleri), Johnny Camileri (69′ Milos Stojanovic).

MGARR Tyrone Gauci, Jake Davies, Kenneth Aquilina, Lyden Micallef, Matthew Agius, Chris Saliba (83′ Mark Abela), Jean Paul Grima, Jack Vella (70′ Gordon Saliba), Aaron Sammut, Jamie Lee Micallef (77′ Leon Zammit), Geoffrey Spiteri.

Referee: Aleksandar Jovanovic
Assistant Referees: Robert Curtis, Patrick Falzon

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.