Malta representative in UEFA Regions Cup to face teams from Kazakhstan, Belarus and North Macedonia

Thirty six association are taking part in the UEFA Regions’ Cup – Europe’s top competition for amateur representative teams. The 2020/21 preliminary and intermediate round draws were made by Michael Kraus, captain of 2019 finals hosts Bavaria, who received the Respect Fair Play trophy on behalf of his team from UEFA Deputy General Secretary Giorgio Marchetti.

Malta was drawn in Group B of the Preliminary Round together with Kazakhstan, Belarus and North Macedonia. Malta will be hosting the mini-tournament between May 24 and 30.

The top two teams move on to the intermediate round.

The group winner would then play against Croatia, Italy and Lithuania in the Intermediate Round Group 2 while the runner-up would face Spain, Northern Ireland and Serbia in Group 4.

All associations will be represented by regional selections to be determined except for Malta and San Marino.

In the past four editions of the UEFA Regions Cup, Malta was represented by Gozo while previously it was represented by a Malta Amateur national team.

Preliminary round draw

Group A: Georgia, Estonia, Sweden, Azerbaijan
Group B: Kazakhstan, Malta, Belarus, North Macedonia

• The top two teams in each group progress to the intermediate round.

Intermediate round draw

Group 1: Czech Republic, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Preliminary round Group A winner
Group 2: Croatia, Italy, Lithuania, Preliminary round Group B winner
Group 3: Russia, Bulgaria, Wales, Preliminary round Group A runner-up
Group 4: Spain, Northern Ireland, Serbia, Preliminary round Group B runner-up
Group 5: Turkey, Slovakia, Israel, San Marino
Group 6: Germany, Hungary, Switzerland, Moldova
Group 7: Poland (holders), Portugal, Romania, Finland
Group 8: Republic of Ireland, France, England, Slovenia

The eight group winners of the intermediate round will qualify for the final tournament. In principle, the finals will take place in the last two weeks of June 2021, hosted by one of the countries that qualifies.