Nadur Youngsters suffer first defeat

A brace by Elton Alexandre da Silva on the 13th and 52nd handed Victoria Hotspurs a 2-0 win over leaders Nadur Youngsters at the Gozo Stadium on Sunday. This was the first defeat for the Youngsters after ten wins in as many matches.

Xewkija Tigers came from behind to beat Kercem Ajax 4-1. Anthony Zammit put Kercem ahead on the 5th minute but goals by Claudio Antunes on the 15th and the 60th, Johnny Camilleri on the 48th and Rodney Buttigieg on the 90th handed Xewkija the three points.

On the other hand, Gharb Rangers and Xaghra United earned a point each in an entertaining 4-4 draw. Nebojsa Biculjevic gave Xaghra the lead on the 2nd minute and Luis Andre de Melo Lima doubled the score on the 11th. Gharb hit back with a penalty by Pablo Vinicius Ferreira on the 22nd, another goal by Ferreira on the 25th and a goal by Olimpio Gabriel Fernandes on teh 34th. However, Joseph George Vella made it 3-3 on the 35th. Luis Andre de Melo Lima restored the lead for Xaghra six minutes in the second half but deep into stoppage time, a Pablo Vinicius Ferreira penalty restored equilibrium.

In another match, Ghajnsielem consolidated third place thanks to a 2-0 win over SK Victoria Wanderers, courtesy of Igor Nedeljkovic on the 24th and 49th (penalty).

Meanwhile Nadur Youngsters bounced back from the league defeat as they defeated Xaghra United 3-0 in the first semi-final of the GFA First Division Knock-Out thanks to goals by Hugo Fernando Pirez just before the end of the first half and eight minutes in the second half and Hugo Santa Rosa Cruz on the 48th.

In the BOV Gozo Football League Second Division, Sannat Lions moved top thanks to a 4-0 win over Munxar Falcons, goals by Luke Xuereb on the 32nd, Ebube Ralph Okpokwu on the 53rd, Mario Mifsud on the 65th and an own goal nine minutes from time.

On the other hand, Zebbug Rovers and St. Lawrence Spurs shared the spoils in a 3-3 draw. Adrian Xiberras put the Spurs ahead on the 3rd and an own goal doubled the score two minutes later. Lucas Farrugia reduced the gap on the 21st but Matthias Michael Uzor made it 3-1 on the 31st. Tiago Barbosa scored twice on the 56th and 71st to earn a point for Zebbug.