Perfect start for Hamrun Spartans

Hamrun Spartans could not start their BOV Premier League campaign on a better note as they defeated Sirens 5-1 at the National Stadium on Monday.

The Spartans were clearly a better side right from the start but Sirens made things easier at times with some shaky defending.

New Hamrun coach Mark Buttigieg handed the debut to no less than nine players, namely Jonathan Debono, Juan Carlos Corbalan, Joseph Mbong, Ige Adeshina, Darko Gojkovic, Elkin Serrano Valero, Predrag Djordjevic, Marcelo Barbosa Junior and Emerson Marcelina.

Photos: Copyright Jonathan Bugeja

Sirens, on the other hand, lacked Ryan Grech but had Maxuell Maia da Silva, Ryan Scicluna, Jacob Walker, Terence Agius and Wilfried Domoraud making their league debut. Two of the club’s other two signings – Jonathan Pearson and Michael Mifsud were included as substitutes.

The Spartans took the lead on the 8th minute when off a cross by Marcelo Barbosa from the left, Sergio Raphael somehow failed to clear and Predrag Dordevic hit home past goalkeeper David Cassar.

Two minutes later, Hamrun doubled the score thanks to a header by Marcelo Barbosa Junior from close range following a cross by Ailton Jorge dos Santos Soares from the right.

The Spartans made it 3-0 on the 25th through Abdullahi Ige Adeshina whose header beat Cassar following a cross from the right by Predrag Dordevic.

Sirens pulled one back on the 28th minute thanks to Wilfried Domoraud who received an assist by Terence Agius deflected by a defender.

Four minutes from the end of the first half, Ħamrun went 4-1 ahead when off a cross by Ailton Soares from the left, Joseph Mbong slotted the ball inside the empty net. 

Seven minutes in the second half, Hamrun scored the fifth goal when Marcelo Barbosa Junior sent Ailton Jorge Soares through and the latter advanced into the area before hitting past Cassar. 

Sirens had Ryan Scicluna sent off on the 72nd minute after he received a second yellow card.

HAMRUN Jonathan Debono, Darko Gojkovic, Joseph Mbong, Ailton Jorge dos Santos Soares (86’ Xylon Portelli), Abdullahi Ige Adeshina, Elkin Serrano Valero, Juan Carlos Corbalan (60’ Imanol Iriberri), Predrag Djordjevic, Karl Micallef, Marcelo Barbosa Junior (75’ Darren Borg), Emerson Marcelina (86’ K. Higgans).
Subs not used: Matthias Debono, Sven Xerri, Miguel Tabone.
Coach: Mark Buttigieg

SIRENS David Cassar, Wellington De Oliveira (46’ Romario Lucas Menezes), Sergio Raphael dos Anjos (87’ Luke Grech), Maxuell Maia da Silva, Wilfried Domoraud, Jacob Walker, Adrian Borg, Ryan Scicluna, Terence Agius (46’ Jonathan Pearson), Angel Manuel Bustos (65’ Michael Mifsud), Thiago Espindola.
Subs not used: Miguel Montfort, Kayode Zammit, Dylan Galea.
Coach: Steve D’Amato

Referee: Trustin Farrugia Cann
Assistant Referees: Luke Portelli, James Muscat
Fourth Official: Darryl Agius
Yellow Cards: Pearson, Serrano, Scicluna
Red Cards: 72′ Scicluna
BOV Player of the Match: Ailton Jorge Soares