Denmark prove too strong for Malta women’s national team

The Malta women’s national team suffered a heavy 0-8 defeat to Denmark in a match from Group B of the UEFA Women EURO qualifying round at the Centenary Stadium on Tuesday.

As expected, the visitors proved too strong for the locals. Denmark lead the way in the group with maximum points from seven matches, together with Italy, scoring 41 goals and conceding none.

Photos: Copyright

The Danish forged ahead on tthe 6th minute when off a cross from the right by Pernille Harder, Stine Larsen headed home past Janice Xuereb. 

A minute later, off a cross from the left by Sofie Svava, Nadia Nadim’s close range header gave the Malta goalkeeper no chance to double the score. 

Xuereb performed a great save on Sofie Junge Pedersen on the 11th minute and on the 32nd, another good safe on Pernille Harder. Denmark maintained the pressure and Sonne Troelsgaard tested Xuereb with a header on 38 minutes and three minutes later, Charlene Zammit came to the rescue clearing off the goal line a Pernille Harder effort. 

However, three minutes from the end of the first half, Denmark scored the third goal through Nadia Nadim whose powerful shot from the left on the edge of the area beat the Malta goalkeeper. 

One minute in the second half, Sonne Troelsgaard scored Denmark’s fourth hitting home off an assist by Svava from the left. 

Pernille Harder concluded a solo effort by entering the area and beating  Xuereb with an angled shot from the left on the 52nd. 

Two minutes later a shot from outside the area by Sofie Junge Pedersen surprised Janice Xuereb with the ball possibly being deflected slightly by Sciberras. 

On the 67th, substitute Signe Bruun tapped the ball home from close range following an assist by Stine Larsen, released on the right by Nanna Christiansen. 

Denmark score the eighth goal thanks to Sonne Troelsgaard whose powerful drive gave Xuereb no chance on the 73rd minute. 

MALTA Janice Xuereb, Emma Lipman, Stefania Farrugia, Dorianne Theuma (70’ Ann Marie Said) Rachel Cuschieri, Alishia Sultana, Maria Farrugia, Shona Zammit, Jade Flask (31’ Nicole Sciberras), Charlene Zammit, Haley Bugeja (75’ Ylenia Carabott). 

DENMARK Katrine Abel, Rikke Sevecke, Simone Boye Sorensen, Sanne Troeelsgaard, Nadia Nadim (66’ Emma Snerle), Pernille Harder (66’ Signe Bruun), Katrine Veje, Stine Larsen, Sofie Junge Pedersen (65’ Nanna Christiansen), Nicoline Sorensen, Sofie Svava. 

Referee: Maria Dolores Martinez Madrona (ESP)