Mangia selects provisional squad for October internationals

Devis Mangia, the Head Coach of the National Teams, has selected an extended squad of 28 players ahead of the October international window which will see the national team play Gibraltar in a friendly match before an away double-header against Andorra and Latvia in the 2020/21 UEFA Nations League.

The October 7 friendly against Gibraltar, being played behind closed doors at the National Stadium, precedes the UEFA Nations League Group D1 matches away to Andorra (October 10) and Latvia (October 13).

Photo: Copyright domenic aquilina

While keeping faith with most of the players who formed part of the squad for the opening UEFA Nations League commitments against Faroe Islands and Latvia earlier this month, Mangia has included two new faces, midfielder Joseph Muscatt, who is on the books of German club SC Paderborn 07, and Samir Arab, of Balzan FC.

Hibernians midfielder Bjorn Kristensen, Karl Micallef, the Ħamrun Spartans defender, and Birkirkara forward Luke Montebello are back in the frame.

Mangia has again named a host of young players in his provisional squad. Birkirkara forward Paul Mbong, who made his senior Malta debut in the 3-2 away defeat to Faroe Islands, and Valletta’s Shaun Dimech are joined by Sliema Wanderers defender Kurt Shaw who was part of the U-21 squad for the recent UEFA Under-21 qualifiers against Northern Ireland and Romania.

Malta have one point after their opening Group D1 matches following a 1-1 draw against Latvia at the National Stadium.

Mangia will reduce his squad to 25 players before the departure to Andorra.


Henry Bonello (Valletta); Matthew Calleja Cremona (Hibernians); Jake Galea (Sliema Wanderers).

Andrei Agius (Hibernians); Steve Borg (Gżira United); Triston Caruana (Valletta); Karl Micallef (Ħamrun Spartans); Zach Muscat (Casa Pia AC – Portugal); Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara); Kurt Shaw (Sliema Wanderers).

Samir Arab (Balzan); Cain Attard (Birkirkara); Myles Beerman (Sliema Wanderers); Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana); Matthew Guillaumier (Birkirkara); Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians); Joseph Mbong (Ħamrun Spartans); Rowen Muscat (Valletta); Joseph Muscatt (SC Paderborn – Germany); Steven Pisani (Balzan); Teddy Teuma (Royale Union Saint-Gilloise – Belgium).

Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians); Shaun Dimech (Valletta); Luke Gambin (Colchester United – England); Jake Grech (Hibernians); Paul Mbong (Birkirkara); Luke Montebello (Birkirkara); Kyrian Nwoko (Valletta).


Comments are closed.