Balzan hold Hamrun Spartans in 2-2 draw

Balzan scored a late penalty to hold Hamrun Spartans in a 2-2 draw at the Centenary Stadium on Monday.

After losing to Birkirkara in their last outing, the Spartans were eager to return to winning ways in order to regain sole leadership but although they went ahead twice thanks to Predrag Djordjevic, each time, Balzan managed to level matters. Hamrun now join Gzira and Hibernians on the 13-point mark.

On the other hand, for Balzan, this was the third draw in four matches. They now lie in seventh place on 9 points, four behind the three joint-leaders.

Hamrun took the lead on the 17th when Franklin Sasere headed the ball down for Predrag Djordjevic to beat Sean Mintoff with an angled shot from the right.

Four minutes from the end of the first half, Balzan equalised when off a Steve Pisani corner from the left, Michael Johnson headed home past goalkeeper Jonathan Debono.

The Spartans regained the lead on the 67th minute when off a cross by Matthew Guillaumier from the right, Predrag Djordjevic headed home in style past substitute goalkeeper Vukasin Vranes.

Five minutes from time, Balzan were awarded a penalty after Ige Adeshina handled the ball inside the area and from the penalty spot, Augustine Loof made no mistake.

BALZAN Sean Mintoff (22’ Vukasin Vranes), Augustine Loof, Samir Arab, Paul Fenech, Eric McWoods, Steve Pisani, Steve Bezzina (84’ William Donkin), Michael Johnson, Uros Ljubomirac, Suleiman Jalu, Weverton Souza Gomes (72’ Alfred Effiong).
Subs not used: Marcus Grima, Neil Frendo, Gary Camilleri, Sean Cipriott.
Coach: Mark Miller
Asst. Coach: Joseph Grech

HAMRUN Jonathan Debono, Matthew Guillaumier, Joseph Mbong, Franklin Sasere (63’ Imanol Iriberri), Elkin Serrano, Juan Carlos Corbalan, Predrag Djordjevic (80’ Ige Adeshina), Karl Micallef, Marcelo Barbosa Junior (66’ Ailton Jorge Soares), Emerson Marcelina, Darren Borg.
Subs not used: Matthias Debono, Christopher Galea, Xylon Portelli, Kieran Higgans.
Coach: Mark Buttigieg
Asst. Coach: Stefan Sultana

Referee: Philip Farrugia
Assistant Referees: Chris Francalanza, Mark Ciantar
Fourth Official: Slobodan Petrovic
Yellow Cards:Marcelina, Debono, Serrano
BOV Player of the Match: Predrag Djordjevic