National Amateur Cup 2020/21 preliminary round and round of 16 draws

The draws for the Preliminary Round and the Round of 16 of the National Amateur Cup were held on Monday.

The competition is reserved for teams in the National Amateur League and the Gozo Football League Second Division.

A total of 24 clubs – 22 from the National Amateur League and two from the Gozo FA Second Division league – will compete in this season’s National Amateur Cup. Munxar Falcons and Żebbuġ Rovers are the two GFA Second Division clubs that have applied to take part in this knock-out competition.

The draws of the preliminary round and last 16, held online, were conducted by Stephen Azzopardi, the Director of Football Operations at the Malta FA. The first 16 teams to be drawn will start their cup campaign in the preliminary round while the remaining eight teams will join the eight preliminary-round winners in the next phase.

The preliminary round ties will take place from October 31-November 1 while the round of 16 matches will be played between November 24 and 26.

Preliminary Round
Zurrieq vs Marsaskala
Attard vs Zebbug Rovers
Xghajra Tornados vs Mgarr United
Luqa St. Andrew’s vs Melita
Siggiewi vs Sta. Venera Lightnings
Zabbar St. Patrick vs Dingli Swallows
Mtarfa vs Mdina Knights
Kirkop United vs Ta’ Xbiex

Round of 16
Mellieha vs Munxar Falcons
Zabbar St. Patrick or Dingli Swallows vs Xghajra Tornados or Mgarr United
Gharghur vs Msida St. Joseph
Luqa St. Andrew’s or Melita vs Ghaxaq
Birzebbuga St. Peter’s vs Attard or Zebbug Rovers
Kalkara United vs Kirkop United or Ta’ Xbiex
Siggiewi or Sta. Venera Lightnings vs Rabat Ajax
Zurrieq or Marsaskala vs Mtarfa or Mdina Knights

The four semi-finalists of the National Amateur Cup will also qualify for the FA Trophy.