National Amateur Cup 2020/21 kicks-off

The National Amateur Cup kicked-off on Saturday with the first matches from the Preliminary Round.

Mgarr United defeated Xghajra Tornados 3-2 at the Luxol Stadium. Clayton Borg put Mgarr ahead on the 35th minute and Zack Camilleri doubled the score two minutes from the end of the first half. Royter Degiorgio reduced the gap on the 59th and the Xghajra captain went on to equalise on the 77th. However Gordon Saliba notched the winner three minutes from time.

In the Round of 16, Mgarr will be facing either Zabbar St. Patrick or Dingli Swallows.

At the Sirens Stadium, Zurrieq defeated Marsaskala 3-1. Andre Joe Cutajar put Zurrieq ahead on the 3rd minute and Adrian Caruana doubled the score on the 31st. An own goal one minute in the second half put them three goals clear. Cleven Farrugia scored a consolation goal two minutes in added time.

Zurrieq will be facing Mtarfa or Mdina Knights in the next stage.

In another match at the Sirens Stadium, Kirkop United defeated Ta’ Xbiex thanks to goals by Michael Theuma on the 19th, Lincoln Micallef on the 73rd and 77th, Ayrton Buhagiar on the 83rd and Andy Portelli on the 88th.

Kirkop United will be facing Kalkara United in the next round.