National Amateur Cup: Mdina eliminate Mtarfa on penalties

Mdina Knights were the last team to reach the Round of 16 of the National Amateur Cup after defeating Mtarfa 5-4 in a match from the Preliminary Round at the Victor Tedesco Stadium on Wednesday.

At the end of the ninety minutes, the score was still 0-0. No goals were scored in extra-time and therefore penalties had to determine the winner.

Daniel Axiaq, Dalton Caruana, Andy Paul Camilleri, Kurt Grixti and Andreas Anastasi scored the penalties for Mdina, Alejandro Brincat, Ivan Bojovic, Nicholas Zammit and Jurgen Gerada replied for Mtarfa.

Mdina will be facing Zurrieq in the next round.

National Amateur Cup Results & Fixtures