Five clashes between Premier League clubs in FA Trophy Round of 32 draw

Five clashes between Premier League clubs are the main highlight in the draw for the Malta FA Trophy Round of 32 which was held on Thursday.

For this round, the sixteen Premier League clubs joined the twelve teams who emerged as winners from the Preliminary Round plus another four teams who were awarded a bye. The teams to reach this stage were: BOV Challenge League sides Fgura United, Naxxar Lions, Marsa, Marsaxlokk Mqabba, Pembroke Athleta, Qormi, Swieqi United, St. Andrews and Zebbug Rangers; BOV National Amateur League side Birzebbuga St. Peter’s; Gozitan sides Ghajnsielem, Nadur Youngsters, Sannat Lions, Victoria Hotspurs, Xaghra United.

Floriana were drawn with Santa Lucia, Valletta with Gudja United, Hibernians with Zejtun Corinthians, Birkirkara with Lija Athletic and Balzan with Mosta.

Four Premier clubs were paired with teams from the Challenge League: Sirens were drawn with Fgura United, Gzira United with Mqabba, Sliema Wanderers with St. Andrews, Tarxien Rainbows with Qormi while Hamrun Spartans and Senglea Athletic were drawn with Gozitan sides Sannat Lions and Nadur Youngsters respectively.

Challenge League leaders Marsa take on Zebbug Rangers while in other clashes between Challenge League clubs, Pembroke Athleta face Marsaxlokk and Naxxar Lions take on Swieqi United.

Ghajnsielem were drawn with Victoria Hotspurs and Birzebbuga St. Peter’s with Xaghra United in the other two matches.

The Round of 32 is scheduled for February 2-4 and 9-11.