FA Trophy: Birkirkara cruise past Lija to reach Round of 16

Birkirkara joined Senglea Athletic, Sirens, Pembroke Athleta and Ghajnsielem in the Round of 16 of the Malta FA Trophy as they registered a most comfortable 6-0 win over Lija Athletic in a match from the Round of 32 at the Centenary Stadium on Tuesday.

Yannick Yankam put the Stripes ahead on the 16th minute and just before the end of the first half, Federico Falcone doubled the score. Oscar Matias Carniello made it 3-0 on the 67th and eight minutes later, Cain Attard scored a fourth goal for Birkirkara. Caio Henrique Prado increased the lead further on the 80th with Cain Attard adding another six minutes from time.

The remaining matches from the Round of 32 will be played between Wednesday and Thursday.

B’KARA Amara Sylla (78′ Miguel Spiteri), Yannick Yankam, Paul Mbong, Kurt Zammit, Federico Falcone, Francesco Verde, Cain Attard, Claudio Bonanni (81′ Neil Friggieri), Caio Henrique Prado Rocha (81′ Glending Farrugia), Oscar Matias Carniello, Isaac Ntow (66′ Reginald Mbu Alidor).

LIJA Luke Bonnici, Carl Cassar, Pedro Gusso, Daniel Scerri, Neil Micallef (9′ Carlos Flores), Harry Wood, Jordan Wells, Clayton Giordimaina (58′ Beppe Antignolo), Nicholas Mclaren (64′ Andrea Mizzi), Gonzalo Virano (64′ Alessio Galea), Valdo Goncalves Alhinho.

Referee: Stefan Pace
Assistant Referees: Christopher Francalanza, James Muscat
Fourth Official: Darryl Agius