FA Trophy: Spartans cruise past Xaghra United

As expected, BOV Premier League leaders Hamrun Spartans found no difficulty in beating Gozitan First Division league wooden-spoonists Xaghra United 6-0 in a match from the Round of 16 of the Malta FA Trophy at the Gozo Stadium on Wednesday.

The Spartans had already defeated another Gozitan side, Sannat Lions 3-1 in the previous round

Franklin Sasere put the Sparans ahead on the 17th minute and Abdullahi Ige Adeshina doubled the score on the 34th. Three minutes later, Sasere made it 3-0.

Eight minutes in the second half, Blas Andreas Cittadini scored Hamrun’s fourth with the same player adding another on the 79th. Five minutes from time, Adeshina sealed the issue with a sixth goal.

XAGHRA Owen Attard (85′ Victor Agius), Johann Bajada, Savio Galea, Nebojsa Biculjevic, Anthony Sultana, Kenny Hili (69′ Francesco Cauchi), Julio Cesar Moreiro Ribeiro, Filipe Rodrigues de Souza Santos, Luke Sultana (85′ Jeremy Formosa), Etienne Xiberras (78′ Jacob Kyle Farrugia), Francesco Attard.
Coach: Eucharist Mercieca

HAMRUN Pablo Sanchez, Michele Lasparata, David Yeboah Johnson, Conor Borg, Franklin Sasere (46′ Matthew Guillaumier), Xylon Portelli, Abdullahi Ige Adeshina, Blas Andreas Cittadini, Karl Micallef (59′ Ailton Jorge dos Santos Soares), Claude Dielna (46′ Miguel Tabone), Darren Borg.
Coach: Mark Buttigieg

Referee: Andrea Sciriha
Assistant Referees: Mitchell Scerri, Carmel Vassallo
Fourth Official: Aleksandar Jovanovic