Devis Mangia names squad for Austria training camp

Malta coach Devis Mangia has named a squad of 28 players for a 10-day training camp in Austria during which the National Team will play three international friendly matches against Northern Ireland, Kosovo and Kazakhstan.

The training camp is part of the national squad’s build-up for their upcoming 2022 World Cup Group H qualifiers which will resume in September with a home date against Cyprus followed by two away tests against Slovenia and Russia.

Malta have one point in Group H following a commendable 2-2 draw away to Slovakia during the March international window.

Mangia has again opted for a mix of experienced and young players, confirming his faith in up-and-coming talents like Valletta’s Shaun Dimech and Sliema Wanderers’ Alexander Satariano who are joined by Gudja United winger Aidan Friggieri and Birkirkara midfielder Yannick Yankam.

A host of other players have been recalled, namely Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians), Jean Borg (Valletta), Cain Attard (Birkirkara), Rowen Muscat (Valletta), Dunstan Vella (Hibernians) and Jean Paul Farrugia (Sliema Wanderers).

A handful of players were left out of the squad due to the fact they are nursing an injury or on their way to recovery. These are Steve Borg, Matthew Guillaumier, Zack Muscat and Paul Mbong.

Midfielder Teddy Teuma, who plays for 2020/21 Belgian First Division B champions Royale Union Saint-Gilloise, is the only foreign-based player in Mangia’s squad selection.

Luke Gambin, also regarded as a key member in Mr. Mangia’s plans, has been left out of the squad due to the fact he is still involved in match of the season with his club Newport County vying for promotion back in the UK from League Two to League One. They face Morecambe at Wembley Stadium next Monday in this League Two Promotion Play-Off.

The Malta squad is due to fly out to Austria on Thursday with the first friendly, against Northern Ireland, pencilled in for 30 May.

Malta then face Kosovo on 4 June before concluding against Kazakhstan three days later.



Henry Bonello (Valletta); Matthew Calleja Cremona (Hibernians); Jake Galea (Sliema Wanderers).


Andrei Agius (Hibernians); Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians); Jean Borg (Valletta); Karl Micallef (Ħamrun Spartans); Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara); Kurt Shaw (Sliema Wanderers).


Cain Attard (Birkirkara); Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana); Triston Caruana (Valletta); Juan Corbalan (Ħamrun Spartans); Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians); Joseph Mbong (Ħamrun Spartans); Nikolai Muscat (Gżira United); Rowen Muscat (Valletta); Steven Pisani (Gżira United); Teddy Teuma (Royale Union Saint-Gilloise – Belgium); Dunstan Vella (Hibernians); Dexter Xuereb (Gżira United); Yannick Yankam (Birkirkara).


Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians); Shaun Dimech (Valletta); Jean Paul Farrugia (Sliema Wanderers); Aidan Friggieri (Gudja United); Jake Grech (Hibernians); Luke Montebello (Birkirkara); Alexander Satariano (Sliema Wanderers).