Ailton Jorge Soares claims MFPA Best Player 2020/21 award

Hamrun Spartans forward Ailton Jorge dos Santos Soares, better known as Dodo, won the MFPA Best Player award for 2020/21. The awards were presented at The Xara Lodge on Monday.

This edition has not only celebrated the best and brightest players from season 2020/2021 but has also marked the tenth year anniversary from when the Association was founded. 

Apart from Dodo, another Hamrun Spartans player, Matthew Guillaumier, was voted Best Young Player.

Guillaumier was also voted Best Young Midfielder with Kurt Shaw (Sliema) being voted Best Young Defender and Paul Mbong (Birkirkara) Best Young Forward.

Stefano Sanderra of Hibernians was voted Best Coach.

The MFPA Best XI for season 2020/2021 were:
Emmanuel Bartolo (Hamrun) – Best Goalkeeper; Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana) – Best Left Back; Cain Attard (Birkirkara) – Best Right Back; Steve Borg (Gzira) and Kurt Shaw (Sliema) – Best Centre Backs; Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro (Sliema/Hibs), Matthew Guillaumier (Hamrun) and Bjorn Kristensen (Hibs) – Best Midfielders; Joseph Mbong (Hamrun), Kevin Ante Rosero (Santa Lucia) and Ailton Jorge Soares (Hamrun) – Best Forwards.

In the Challenge League, Philip Schranz (Pembroke) was voted Best Goalkeeper, Jonathan Bondin (Marsa) Best Defender, Clive Gauci (Zebbug) Best Midfielder and Lydon Micallef (Marsa) Best Forward. Clive Gauci was voted Best Player Overall in the Challenge League.

In the Women’s League, Shona Zammit of Swieqi United was voted Best Player while Veronique Mifsud of Birkirkara was voted Best Young Player.

The MFPA Women’s League Best XI were: Janice Xuereb (Birkirkara) – Best Goalkeeper; Jade Flask (Swieqi) – Best Left Back; Jade Schembri (Swieqi) – Best Right Back; Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara) and Charlene Zammit (Swieqi) Best Centre Backs; Brenda Borg (Mgarr), Dorianne Theuma and Shona Zammit (both Swieqi) – Best Midfielders and Francesca Chircop (Mgarr), Raina Giusti (Birkirkara) and Rodianne Zerafa (Kirkop) – Best Forwards.

Trustin Farrugia Cann was voted Best Referee.

In his speech, the general secretary Carlo Mamo, looked back at the past ten years.  He highlighted MFPA’s major milestones, and outlined the Association’s vision. Mamo  spoke of the plans to push forward women’s football because “MFPA believes women should have the same opportunities and rights, especially at national level.

During his speech the general secretary also announced that the Players’ Association is now part of MFA’s executive board and thanked MFA’s administration for recognizing that the  players’ voice in the highest football forum, is not only crucial but will also lead to more  innovation and progress. 

The ceremony was hosted by Keith Demicoli.