Mark Gatt names squad ahead of Denmark clash

Malta women’s team coach Mark Gatt has named a squad of 20 players for the opening game of the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifications against Denmark, being played in Viborg, this Thursday (kick-off: 18.00).

For this away fixture, Gatt has introduced three new faces to the national team namely Maia Debono of Mġarr United, Jessica Dimech of Swieqi United and Mġarr United defender Alexandra Gatt, who is currently in England to pursue her studies.

All three players are part of the defensive department and will be joining a list of experienced players heading to Denmark.

In fact, Gatt has kept faith with most of the players who were part of the previous 2022 UEFA Women’s Euro qualifying campaign where Malta finished fourth in its six-team group, scoring a record 10-point tally.

Besides Gatt, there are five other foreign-based players including Maria Farrugia who also plays her football in England, at Sunderland Ladies. Lazio midfielder Rachel Cuschieri and Serie B-based trio Nicole Sciberras (Tavagnacco), Emma Lipman (Como Women) and Martina Borg (Roma Calcio Femminile) were also picked by coach Gatt.

Birkirkara, who have represented Malta in this year’s edition of the UEFA Women’s Champions League, have six players called up. Swieqi United are represented by five players while Mġarr United have three players in the list.

Forwards Haley Bugeja of Sassuolo and Ylenia Carabott, who last season played in Belgium at RCSC Charleroi, are currently unfit to play and therefore have not been selected for these games.



Patricia Ebejer (Mġarr United); Janice Xuereb (Birkirkara).


Alexandra Gatt, Maia Debono (both Mġarr United); Jessica Dimech, Jade Flask (both Swieqi United); Stephania Farrugia, Gabriella Zahra, Charlene Zammit (all Birkirkara); Nicole Sciberras (Tavagnacco, Italy).


Brenda Borg (Mġarr United); Kayleigh Chetcuti, Dorianne Theuma, Shona Zammit (all Swieqi United); Rachel Cuschieri (Lazio, Italy); Emma Lipman (Como Women); Ann-Marie Said, Alishia Sultana (both Birkirkara)


Martina Borg (Roma Calcio Femminile, Italy), Maria Farrugia (Sunderland Ladies, England)