Gilbert Agius names Under-21 squad ahead of trips to Lithuania, Slovakia

On the eve of the Malta Under-21 national team’s departure for a double header away from home, coach Gilbert Agius has finalised his 22-man squad. Malta faces Lithuania this Friday at 17:30 in Alytus and Slovakia on Tuesday in Nitra at 16:30 in two matches from Group C of the UEFA European Under-21 Championship Group C.

Malta registered a 4-1 home win over Northern Ireland followed by a 6-0 away setback in Russia.

The squad includes three goalkeepers who made the final cut for this trip, including the return of Nocerina keeper Rashed Al-Tumi.

This final squad also includes five more newcomers, namely Samuel Okoh who plays his trade with Pieta Hotspurs, his club mate Sheldon Mizzi, Adam Bradshaw of Balzan, Larens Vella representing Challenge League side Rabat Ajax, together with Victor Degiorgio who plays in the United States of America with Maryville University.

Floriana’s Adam Magri Overend who is deemed as a valuable asset in this Malta U21 selection has been left out for this double away trip in the coming days ensuing his promotion by Malta National Team Head Coach Devis Mangia to the senior side.

Under-21 Team coach Gilbert Agius will use these two matches to completely erase the heavy defeat in Russia in the team’s most recent outing and propel this group of youngsters to fire on all cylinders with much improved performances and ideally also some positive results.

The Malta Under-21 squad will flyout on Wednesday early afternoon as they ramp up their preparations ahead of Lithuania match two days later.

Malta Under-21 Final squad

Goalkeepers – Rashed Al-Tumi (Nocerina), Cain Formosa (San Ġwann FC), Amara Sylla (Birkirkara FC).

Defenders – Matthew Ellul (Hibernians FC), Christian Gauci (Valletta FC), Karl Mohnani (Melita FC), Samuel Okoh (Pieta Hotspurs), Carlo Zammit Lonardelli (Sirens FC).

Midfielders – Ayrton Attard (Hibernians FC), Adam Bradshaw (Balzan FC), Alejandro Garzia (Floriana FC), Marcus Grima (Balzan FC), Liam McKay (Santa Lucia FC), Sheldon Mizzi (Pieta Hotspurs FC), Bradley Sciberras (Floriana FC), Andreas Vella (Santa Lucia FC).

Offensive Players – Jamie Carbone (Santa Lucia FC), Victor Degiorgio (Maryville Uni), Jake Engerer (Sliema Wanderers FC), Jamie Sixsmith (St. Andrews FC), Mattia Veselji (Floriana FC), Larens Vella (Rabat Ajax).