Under-17 side loses 0-3 to Montenegro

The Malta Under-17 side, led by coach Ivan Woods, lost 0-3 to Montenegro at the Tony Bezzina Stadium in the final match from Group 1 of the UEFA Under-17 Championship qualifying round on Tuesday.

Following a goalless first half, Milan Roganović put Montenegro ahead on the 54th and seven minutes later, Luka Bubanja doubled the score. Balsa Mrvaljevic sealed the issue with a third goal five minutes in added time.

Malta therefore finished its commitments without any points after losing 1-6 to Turkey and 1-5 to Denmark in the first two matches.

Turkey won the group after defeating Denmark in a penalty shoot-out following a 3-3 draw on Tuesday. The two teams had ended their commitments on level points with the same goal-difference, same number of goals scored and conceded.

MALTA Dominic Vella, Andrew Apap Bologna (60′ Josiah Mallia), Sven Xerri, Kian Vella (18′ Ivin Farrugia), Lucas Caruana, Kaiden Fenech (77′ Sean Gatt), Ensell Attard, Myron Micallef, Isaiah Chukunyere, Kian Leonardi (76′ Timothy Cachia), Zak Barbara (60′ Russell Caruana).

MONTENEGRO Petar Bobicic, Janko Vukicevic, Dragan Miranovic, Romario Camaj, Milan Roganovic (90+2′ Nikola Radusinovic), Luka Lecic, Marko Tadic, Tomislav Turovic (46′ Luka Bubanja), Marko Perovic (82′ Nenad Krivokapic), Vasilje Adzic (46′ Andrija Skrobanovic), Balsa Mrvaljevic.

Referee: Ion Orlic (MDA)