Devis Mangia names squad ahead of final two European Qualifiers

National Teams Head Coach Devis Mangia has made his 30-man team selection ahead of the double header against Croatia and Slovakia on home soil.  The national team will meet up for the first training session next Monday 1st November and is scheduled to play against Croatia on Thursday 11th November and against Slovakia on the 14th  of November as part of their commitments in Group H of the European Qualifiers – World Cup 2021.  

Head Coach Devis Mangia made a number of changes to the 30-man squad he chose before the games against Slovenia and Cyprus in the beginning of October in October 2021.  Mangia welcomes back two of the Hibernians players, Andrei Agius and Bjorn Kristensen, that were left out in the previous international window.  The list includes San Gwann goalkeeper Cain Formosa, Valletta defender Jean Borg, and Hamrun Spartans duo Juan Carlos Corbolan and Matthew Guilaumier who returns from a long-term injury.     

After having played eight matches in Group H, Malta has obtained five points, a draw against Slovakia, a win over Cyprus on home soil and a draw against the same team in Larnaca in October.  Malta lost both games against Russia, and the games against Slovenia and Croatia.  

The players selected by Mangia are:

goalkeepers Henry Bonello (Hamrun), Cain Formosa (San Gwann), Jake Galea (Balzan), Matthew Grech (Pembroke Athleta);

defenders Andrei Agius (HIbs), Jean Borg (Valletta), James Brown (St. Johnstone), Triston Caruana (Valletta), Karl Micallef (Hamrun), Zach Muscat (Casa Pia), Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara), Kurt Shaw (Sliema)

midfielders Cain Attard (Birkirkara), Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana), Juan Carlos Corbalan (Hamrun), Matthew Guillaumier (Hamrun), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibs), Adam Magri Overend (Floriana), Joseph Mbong (Hamrun), Steve Pisani (Gzira), Nevin Portelli (Gzira), Teddy Teuma (Union Saint Gilloise), Dunstan Vella (Hibs)

forwards Jurgen Degabriele (Hibs), Shaun Dimech (Valletta), Luke Gambin (Hamrun), Jake Grech (Hibs), Paul Mbong (Birkirkara), Luke Montebello (Birkirkara), Alex Satariano (Frosinone).