Izibet FA Trophy: St. George’s, Zebbug through to Round of 32

Zebbug Rangers and St. George’s were the first two teams to reach the Round of 32 of the Izibet FA Trophy as the first two Preliminary Round matches were played on Tuesday.

At the Gozo Stadium, Zebbug Rangers defeated Gozitan side Victoria Hotspurs 4-1.

Liam Gauci put Zebbug ahead on the 21st minute and four minutes later, Glen Mifsud doubled the score. On the half-hour Miguel Perez Jimenez scored the third goal for Zebbug but seven minutes from the end of the first half, Andrea Debrincat pulled one back for the Hotspurs. However, on the 90th, Miguel Perez Jimenez sealed the issue with a fourth goal for Brian Spiteri’s side.

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, St. George’s defeated Mgarr United 2-1.

Loumar Cutajar put the Saints ahead on the 20th minute and four minutes from the end of the first half, Lawrence Uchechi Chiedozie doubled the score. Luca Camilleri scored a consolation goal for Mgarr on the 72nd minute.