FIFA World Cup 2022: The Complete Guide

The 2022 FIFA World Cup is the 22nd running of the FIFA World Cup Competition. The event is scheduled to happen in Qatar from 21 November 2022 to 18 December 2022. It is the first time in history that a World Cup is taking place in an Arab nation. The tournament will involve 32 teams and will last around for nearly a month.

Read along to know more about the World Cup schedules. Moreover, you can click here if you are looking for a sports betting website through which you can place your bets on such global sport events. For years, football has been on everyone’s nerves and the FIFA World Cup is what everyone awaits. So the wait is finally over, start grasping details of the tournament and start feeling the zeal of the game.

Details regarding Play-offs  

EURO 2020 winners Italy and Portugal are among the teams in the playoffs for the tournament in Qatar. Italy failed to beat Northern Ireland at Windsor Park in the final match of qualifiers, which paved a way for Switzerland to qualify automatically. Portugal’s 2-1 defeat to Serbia also cost them the top spot. 

Italy and Portugal finished as runners-up in their respective groups along with North Macedonia, Poland, Russia, Scotland, Sweden, Turkey, Ukraine and Wales while Austria and the Czech Republic make it to the play-offs via the UEFA Nations League rankings.

The playoffs semi-finals will be held on Thursday March 24, followed by the finals five days later on Tuesday March 29. 

UEFA’s World Cup Playoff Draw

Path A

Semi-final 1: Scotland vs Ukraine

Semi-final 2: Wales vs Austria

Final: Wales or Scotland vs Austria or Ukraine

Path B

Semi-final 1: Russia vs Poland

Semi-final 2: Sweden vs the Czech Republic

Final: Russia or Sweden vs Poland or the Czech Republic

Path C

Semi-final 1: Italy vs North Macedonia

Semi-final 2: Portugal vs Turkey

Final: Italy or Portugal vs North Macedonia or Turkey

Teams that have qualified for the World Cup 2022

  • Qatar as the hosts

South America

  • Argentina 
  • Brazil


  • Belgium 
  • Croatia
  • Denmark
  • England
  • France
  • Germany
  • Netherlands
  • Serbia
  • Spain
  • Switzerland

Gameplay in Africa

The five African teams will be determined in March after the ten winners from the second round of the qualifying round- Algeria, Tunisia, Nigeria, Cameroon, Mali, Egypt, Ghana, Senegal, Morocco and DR Congo – play in five home-and-away ties.

Gameplay – Asia

The leading two teams of Group A and B from the third qualifying round will automatically qualify for the FIFA World Cup while the winner of the play-off between the two teams placing third will face the team placing fifth in the South American qualifiers in another play-off

Gameplay – Oceania

The winner of the Oceanian qualifiers which will be held in March will face the team placing fourth in the CONCACAF third qualifying round.

Gameplay – South America

Four teams will gain automatic qualification through the CONMEBOL qualifiers with the team placing fifth facing the team placing third in the Asian qualifiers in a play-off.

Gameplay – North and Central America

Three teams will gain automatic qualification through the third round of the CONCACAF qualifiers with the team placing fourth facing the winner of the Oceanian qualifiers in a play-off.

Final Words

We are on the verge of witnessing the world’s best footballing nations, competing against one another, with a single dream of lifting the exclusive FIFA World Cup. The most awaited tournament is here for all of us. The play-offs have begun, and the aura of the gaming spirit has also initiated.