Ten Premier League players suspended

Ten Premier League players were suspended by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

Sean Cipriott (Balzan), Jackson Mendoza and Luke Tabone (Gzira), Ferdinando Apap (Hibs), Ivan Doric and Tyrone Farrugia (Mosta), Gianmarco Conti and Victor Luis Prestes Filho (Santa Lucia), Kurt Shaw (Sliema) and James Arthur (Valletta) were all handed a one-match ban.

Shaw and Cipriott are ruled out of the clash between Balzan and Sliema; Gzira could not count on Mendoza and Tabone for the game against Sliema; Apap is ruled out of the game against Sirens. Santa Lucia will be without Conti and Prestes Filho for the derby against Gudja while Arthur skips the derby clash with Floriana. Mosta will be without Doric and Farrugia for the match against Hamrun.

In the BOV Challenge League, Ali Oularbi (Vittoriosa) was suspended for three matches while Calvin Camilleri and Fredrick Tabone (Marsaxlokk), Samuel Saldanha (Naxxar), Sheldon Grech (Luqa), Bydasser Sammut (Qrendi), Joseph Willy (Swieqi), Ryan Cauchi and Brandon Muscat (Tarxien) were all suspended for one match. Vittoriosa Stars official Iro Curmi was banned for one match and Qrendi official Jurgen Mifsud for two matches.

In the National Amateur League, Warren Azzopardi (Gharghur), Glenn Brincat (Xghajra), Gary Caruana and Mark Vassallo (Kirkop) and Gianluca Vella (Mdina) were all banned for one match.