Ten Premier League players suspended

Ten Premier League players were handed a one match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner.

Claudio Bonanni and Diego Venancio (Birkirkara), Emiliano Callegari and Georgi Kitanov (Floriana), Glenn Zammit (Gudja), Gabriel Bohrer (Gzira), Andrei Agius and Leandro Almeida (Hibs), Jean Carlos Cloth Goncalves and Danny Holla (Sliema) are therefore ruled out of this weekend’s matches.

Leaders Hibernians, therefore, could not count on Agius and Almeida for the clash with Hamrun; Floriana will be without Kitanov and Callegari for the match against Gudja would will be without goalkeeper Glenn Zammit. Bonnani and Venancio are ruled out for Birkirkara for the game against Santa Lucia while Sliema will be lacking Goncalves and Holla for the game against Valletta. Bohrer of Gzira will miss the game against Mosta.

In the Challenge League, Aidan Mizzi (Melita) was banned for two matches while Peter Xuereb (Marsaxlokk), Anderson de Barros (Melita), Brandon Micallef (Rabat), Courage Omoruanzoje (San Gwann), Dylan Agius (Zejtun), Alan Abdel Rahman (Luqa), Jake Milwyn Davies (Mgarr), Steve Schembri (Qrendi), Joseph Farrugia (St. Andrews), Liam Gauci and Randall Vella (Zebbug) were all banned for one match.

Zejtun official Christopher Mangion was suspended for two matches while Senglea coach Dennis Fenech was handed a one-match ban.

In the National Amateur League, Jonathan Mallia (Kirkop) was suspended for four matches, Aaron Hili (Xghajra) and Joseph Chetcuti (Marsaskala) for three matches while Keith Fedele (Attard), Christopher Cutajar and Stefan Micallef (Birzebbuga), Jael Vella (Kalkara), James Borg, Lazar Doric and Matthew Pace (Mdina) and Luca Bugeja (Zurrieq) for one match.