Devis Mangia names 29-man squad ahead of Azerbaijan, Kuwait friendlies

National Teams Head Coach Devis Mangia has named a 29-man team ahead of the friendly double header against Azerbaijan and Kuwait on home soil.  The national team will meet up for the first training session next Wednesday 16th March and is scheduled to play against Azerbaijan on Friday 25th March and against Kuwait on Tuesday 29th of March.  

Head Coach Devis Mangia made a number of changes to the squad he chose before the games against Croatia and Slovakia in November 2021.  Mr Mangia welcomes back Hibernians’ defender Ferdinando Apap and goalkeeper Matthew Calleja Cremona, Gzira United’s Nikolai Muscat and Floriana duo Brandon Paiber and Jan Busuttil.  Steve Borg who missed the last international window as he was suffering from injury, returns.

The friendly against Azerbaijan will also be an occasion to celebrate the career of one of the longest serving players of Maltese football as Andrei Agius will be making his final appearance in a Malta shirt. Agius, 35, has made 102 appearances for the National team and scored 6 goals. The Hibernians FC defender will be joining the Malta squad a day ahead of the Azerbaijan game.


Henry Bonello (Ħamrun Spartans FC); Matthew Calleja Cremona (Hibernians FC); Jake Galea (Balzan FC) 

Andrei Agius (HiberniansFC); Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians FC); Jean Borg (Valletta FC); Steve Borg (Ħamrun Spartans FC); James Brown (St. Johnstone FC – SCO), Triston Caruana (Valletta FC); Karl Micallef (Ħamrun Spartans FC); Zach Muscat (Casa Pia – POR); Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara FC) 

Cain Attard (Birkirkara FC); Ryan Camenzuli (Floriana FC); Matthew Guillaumier (A.C. Siena – ITA); Adam Magri Overend (Floriana FC); Joseph Essien Mbong (Ħamrun Spartans FC); Nikolai Muscat (Gżira United FC); Brandon Diego Paiber (Floriana FC); Steven Pisani (Gżira United FC); Nevin Portelli (Gżira United FC); Teddy Teuma (R.U. Saint Gilloise- BE); Dunstan Vella (Hibernians FC)

Jan Busuttil (Floriana FC); Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians FC); Jake Grech (Hibernians FC); Paul Mbong (Birkirkara FC); Luke Montebello (Birkirkara FC); Alexander Satariano (U.S. Pergolettese 1932 – ITA)