Gilbert Agius names squad ahead of Lithuania clash

Malta Under-21 coach Gilbert Agius has selected his 28-man provisional squad for the upcoming UEFA European Under-21 Championship Group C Qualifier home encounter against Lithuania scheduled for Tuesday 29th March.

This March international window has initially been scheduled for two home qualifiers for the Malta Under-21 team but due to the fact that the other opponents were Russia, the match has been put on hold in parallel with FIFA and UEFA’s decisions to suspended Russia’s national teams following Ukraine’s invasion.

The match against Lithuania at the Centenary Stadium will forge the opportunity for the team to build on a successful last outing for the Malta emerging winners 2-0 away from home against Northern Ireland in November.

Lithuania narrowly edged the reverse fixture winning 2-1 when the sides met in Alytus back in October with St. Andrews player Jamie Sixsmith getting a goal back for Malta late on.

The squad sees the return of both keepers Rashed All-Tumi and Cain Formosa. Also notable is a first ever call-up for San Ġwann player James Vella, Kurt Bondin who plays his trade with Żebbuġ Rangers, Melita’s Matthew Debattista, Sheldon Mackay representing Valletta, Joseph Zammit of Nadur Youngsters together with young Birkirkara forward Jed Valletta.

Malta Under-21 provisional squad:-

Goalkeepers – Rashed Al-Tumi (Sliema Wanderers FC), Matthias Debono (Ħamrun Spartans FC), Cain Formosa (San Ġwann FC).

Defenders – Adam Bradshaw (Balzan FC), Matthew Ellul (Hibernians FC), Christian Gauci (Valletta FC), Zean Leonardi (Pieta Hotspur FC), Nikolai Micallef (Ħamrun Spartans FC), Sheldon Mizzi (Pieta Hotspur FC), Samuel Okoh (Pieta Hotspur FC), James Vella (San Ġwann FC), Carlo Zammit Lonardelli (Sirens FC).

Midfielders – Ayrton Attard (Hibernians FC), Jean Paul Attard (Gżira United FC), Kurt Bondin (Żebbuġ Rangers FC), Matthew Debattista (Melita FC), Aleandro Garzia (Floriana FC), Marcus Grima (Balzan FC), Sheldon Mackay (Valletta FC), Andreas Vella (Floriana FC), Joseph Zammit (Nadur Youngsters FC).

Forwards – Jake Engerer (Sliema Wanderers FC), Jake Ghio (Pieta Hotspur FC), Sebastian Grech (San Gwann FC), Bradley Sciberras (Lija Athletic FC), Jamie Sixsmith (St Andrews FC).