Malta drawn with Norway, Belgium and Portugal in UEFA Women’s Under-19 Championship League A mini-tournament

The Malta women’s Under-19 national team was drawn with Norway, Belgium and Portugal in Group A7 in Round 1 of the 2022/23 UEFA European Women’s Under-19 Championship following the draw which was held on Tuesday.

Malta will be competing in League A after being promoted as one of two best runners-up in Group B in Round 2 which was played in April. Malta, in fact, finished second in Group B1, behind hosts Northern Ireland but ahead of Azerbaijan and Faroe Islands. Malta had drawn 1-1 with Northern Ireland, defeated Azerbaijan 2-1 and the Faroe Islands 3-2.

League A consists of 28 teams, including the eight promoted from League B after 2021/22 round 2 in the spring. The teams were drawn into seven groups; from these single-venue mini-tournaments, the teams finishing fourth will be relegated to League B for 2022/23 round 2, with the other positions deciding seeding for League A in that round. Belgium will take part, although their finals place is assured as hosts.

The teams in League B, including sides relegated from League A in 2021/22 round 2, as well as the first Gibraltar team to enter any UEFA women’s national team football competition, will compete for promotion to League A in seven groups. The group winners will be promoted. The seven teams joining Belgium in the 2023 finals will be decided by round 2 League A.

Round 1 draw

League A

Group A1: Spain, Finland, Switzerland, Scotland
Group A2: Sweden, Netherlands, Greece, Turkey
Group A3: Italy, Hungary, Wales, Serbia
Group A4: England, Denmark, Slovakia, Slovenia
Group A5: France, Republic of Ireland, Poland, Northern Ireland
Group A6: Germany, Austria, Ukraine, Israel
Group A7: Norway, Belgium (finals hosts), Portugal, Malta

League B

Group B1: Croatia, Azerbaijan, Montenegro, Cyprus
Group B2: Romania, Latvia, Albania, Armenia
Group B3: Iceland, Lithuania, Faroe Islands, Liechtenstein
Group B4: Bosnia and Herzegovina, Moldova, Estonia
Group B5: Bulgaria, Kosovo, Gibraltar
Group B6: Belarus, North Macedonia, Georgia
Group B7: Czech Republic, Andorra, Kazakhstan