University of Malta stun Luxol to claim E&L Futsal Trophy

University of Malta produced one of the biggest surprises in the local futsal scene as they won the E&L Futsal Trophy after seeing off champions Luxol 6-2.

It was a gallant effort by the Universitarians who fought hard against their more quoted opponents.

Moreover this was Luxol’s first defeat after more than three years. They found it hard to instil their typical superiority against a plucky opponent who punished them in some crucial moments of the second half.

Luxol started brightly as they surged ahead through Mark Zammit whose grounder beat Dylan Cacciattolo. However, the Students kept their composure and restored parity courtesy of Cleaven Portelli.

As the first half ended in a 1-1 scoreline, the second half brought a lot of emotions with University of Malta who capitalized on some defensive frailties.

Luxol were awarded a penalty at the start of the second half, with Everton Veve converting from the six metre mark.

The best was yet to come for University of Malta who managed to level the score with a wondergoal by Guillherme Fonseca who surprised keeper Stefan Vella.

The goal filled the Universitarians with courage as they even netted the third one through Steven Camilleri.

Luxol coach Gabriel Dobre brought Dylan Musu as the flying keeper in order to instil more pressure on the University rear-guard but in doing so they exposed their defence with their opponents who took advantage as they scored three quick-fire goals through Dale Valletta, Cleaven Portelli and Steven Camilleri.

Luxol continued to attack till the end with Dylan Musu’s shot who hit the bar.

The end of the contest led to celebrations by the University players, coaching staff and their numerous supporters as captain Dylan Cacciatolo received the trophy from Liam Camilleri, an E&L representative.

Luxol: Bernard Camilleri, Celino Alves, Matthew Attard, Mark Zammit, Andy Mangion, Clint Mifsud, Stefan Vella, Everton Veve, Melvin Borg, Marwan Telisi, Nathan Cope, Dylan Musu.

L-Universita’ ta’ Malta: Dylan Cacciattolo, Guillherme Fonseca, Cleaven Portelli, Stefan Camilleri, Steven Camilleri,, Ryan Scerri, Timothy Vella, Neil Cauchi, Deane Farrugia, Jean Noel Azzopardi, Paul Scerri, Mohammed Elamari, Dale Valletta.

Referees: Clint Cassar, Andrea Naudi, Stephen Vella

Time-keeper: Tesmarie Busuttil