Gilbert Agius names provisional squad ahead of Cyprus, Montenegro friendlies

Under-21 National Team Coach Gilbert Agius has selected a provisional team of 27 Under-21 players for this September training camp in preparation for the upcoming friendlies in the last week of September against Cyprus and Montenegro.   The squad will be trimmed down to 22 on the 23rd of September.

A total of 15 new faces has been called up for this training camp as a fresh cycle begins for the Malta Under-21 team.  The games will give Agius the opportunity to put a new team together ahead of the upcoming international games. 

Santa Lucia’s Dylan Ciappara and Jamie Carbone, Matthias Debono of Tarxien Rainbows, Pieta Hotspurs’ Zean Leonardi, and Sheldon Mizzi, Glenn Mifsud of Zebbug Rangers, Swansea University’s Karl Mohnani, Marsaxlokk’s Dale Mifsud, Floriana’s Aleandro Garzia, Valletta’s Sheldon Mackay and Andrea Zammit are the only players included from the squad that were part of the squad in June, with a number of players moving up out of the age group.  Mattia Veselji who was called up with the senior national team in June was recalled with the Under 21 team for this international window.

Malta hosts Cyprus at the Centenary Stadium on Saturday 24, kick-off at 19:00 and then Montenegro on Monday 26 at the Centenary Stadium, kick-off at 19:00.

The Malta Under-21 provisional squad is made up of:


Dylan Ciappara (Santa Lucia FC), Reeves Cini (Pietà Hotspurs FC), Matthias Debono (Tarxien Rainbows FC), Miguel Spiteri (San Gwann FC)

Central Defenders

Adam Camilleri (Birkirkara FC), Isaac Cutajar (San Gwann FC), Zean Leonardi (Pietà Hotspurs FC), Glen Mifsud (Zebbug Rangers FC), Sheldon Mizzi (Pietà Hotspurs FC), Karl Mohnani (Swansea University FC)


Nathan Agius (Mosta FC), Kurt Bondin (Zebbug Rangers FC), Kurt Briffa (Pietà Hotspurs FC), Nick Cutajar (Melita FC), Cameron Dalli (Sirens), Matthew Debattista (Melita FC), Aleandro Garzia (Floriana FC), Sheldon Mackay (Valletta FC), Nikolai Micallef (Tarxien Rainbows FC), Gianluca Sciberras (Mosta FC)

Offensive Players

Jamie Carbone (Santa Lucia FC), Sebastian Cassar Torregiani (University of Sterling), Isaac Ebejer (Eastleigh FC ), Jake Engerer (Sliema Wanderers FC), Dale Mifsud (Marsaxlokk FC), Mattia Veselji (Floriana FC), Andrea Zammit (Valletta FC)