Alfred Attard names Malta Amateur national team squad ahead of UEFA Regions Cup commitments

Coach Alfred Attard, and his assistant Clint Tabone,  has selected a final list of 18 players which will fly to Croatia on Tuesday morning to participate in the UEFA Regions Cup.

Thirty five teams from European national associations will take part in eight one-venue mini-tournaments.  The competition is open for regional amateur teams, however Malta and San Marino are represented by national amateur teams has been.

Malta has been drawn in Group 8, with Split (Croatia), Belgrade (Serbia) and Ivano Frankivsk from Ukraine.

The tournament will be held in Zadar, Croatia, and Malta’s three matchdays are as follows:

  • MD1 – 28th September – Malta vs Split Region (Croatia)
  • MD2 – 1st October – Ivano Frankivsk (Ukraine)
  • MD3 – 4th October – Belgrade (Serbia)

All games start at 16:30 and will be be played in the Stanovi Stadium, Zadar

The 18-man list is as follows:


Jonathan Grech (Zabbar St Patricks FC), Leon Seisun (Ghaxaq FC)


Daniel Sant (Lija Athletic FC), Gianluca Bugeja (Marsa FC), Dylan Micallef (Marsa FC), Ismael Colombo (Marsascala FC), Andrea Azzopardi (Zurrieq FC), Ian Montanaro (Marsa FC)


Samuel Buhagair (Fgura FC), Josmar Galea (Marsascala FC), Josuel Spiteri (Marsascala FC), Ryan Dalli (Mgarr FC) Shalon Diacono (Zabbar St Patricks FC), Damon Hili (Victoria Hotspurs FC), Thomas Giles (Lija Athletic FC)


Saturday Nanapere (Mgarr FC), Andre Joe Cutajar (Zabbar St Patricks FC), Nicholas Schembri (Attard FC)