Gilbert Agius names squad for Under-21 friendly against Andorra

Malta Under-21 Coach Gilbert Agius has selected 25 players for the upcoming friendly international during this November window as the team faces Andorra at the Centenary Stadium on Wednesday 23rd November 2022.

A return in the squad for Floriana defender Owen Spiteri, he’s joined by a few newcomers including midfield players Jacob Crossey of San Ġwann FC and Xylon Portelli who also plays in the Challenge League with Żurrieq.

The squad relies heavily on a handful of experienced players like Karl Mohnani who plays for Melita FC, the Floriana duo of Aleandro Garzia and Mattia Veselji, together with forward players Jake Engerer (Sliema Wanderers), and Valletta’s Andrea Zammit, who notwithstanding their young age all possess experience following a considerable number of appearances already, representing their country at this level.

The squad is summoned to start training on Monday, therefore over a week of in-depth work ahead of this Andorra friendly, wherein coach Agius will have the possibility to assess the physical and mental condition of his players, also ample time for himself and the rest of the coaching staff to work on few drills and tactics.

The Malta Under-21 team will commence a new cycle of qualifying competition during the first two quarters of next year (2023), which pairings and dates are yet to be established.

Malta U21 Team 25-man squad:-

Goalkeepers – Dylan Ciappara (Santa Lucia FC), Matthias Debono (Tarxien Rainbows FC), Miguel Spiteri (San Ġwann FC).

Defenders – Isaac Cutajar (San Ġwann FC), Zean Leonardi (Pieta Hotspurs FC), Sheldon Mizzi (Pieta Hotspurs FC), Karl Mohnani (Swansea University – WAL), Owen Spiteri (Floriana FC), James Vella (Sliema Wanderers FC).

Midfielders – Nathan Agius (Mosta FC), Kurt Bondin (Żebbuġ Rangers FC), Kurt Briffa (Pieta Hotspurs FC), Jacob Crossey (San Ġwann FC), Nick Cutajar (Melita FC), Matthew Debattista (Melita FC), Aleandro Garzia (Floriana FC), Nikolai Micallef (Tarxien Rainbows FC), Xylon Portelli (Żurrieq FC), Gianluca Sciberras (Mosta FC).

Offensive players – Jamie Carbone (Santa Lucia FC), Jake Engerer (Sliema Wanderers FC), Dale Mifsud (Marsaxlokk FC), Matthew Mifsud (Ħamrun Spartans FC), Mattia Veselji (Floriana FC), Andrea Zammit (Valletta FC).