Nine Premier League players suspended

Nine Premier League players were handed a one-match ban by the MFA Disciplinary Commissioner following the weekend’s matches.

Nikola Braunovic (Balzan), Neil Anthony Micallef (Gudja), Emerson Marcelina (Hamrun), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibs), Daniel Agius and Edafe Uzeh (Marsaxlokk), Zachary Brincat and Christ Ememe (Mosta) and Henrique Marcelino Motta (Zebbug) are therefore ruled out of the matches from match-day 16.

Mosta could not count on Brincat and Ememe for the game against Hibernians who will be lacking Bjorn Kristensen. Marsaxlokk will lack Agius and Uzeh for the game against Gzira, Zebbug will be without Henrique Motta for the game against Santa Lucia, Braunovic and Neil Micallef are ruled out of Gudja vs Balzan while Marcelina will skip the game against Pieta’.

In the Challenge League, Robinson Blandon Rendon (Naxxar), Isaac Cutajar (San Gwann), Juan Pablo Morales Rengifo (Swieqi), Clyde Borg (Zejtun) and Joao Vitor De Oliveira Florencio (Zurrieq) were all banned for one match.

On the other hand, Aleksander Kovacic (Dingli) was banned for two matches while Kurt Farrugia (Pembroke), Kurt Tanti (Qormi), Nicholas Zahra (Mdina), Russell Vella (Msida), Miguel Aquilina, Ian Caruana and Andrew Sant (Rabat) and Domenico Marsala (Siggiewi) were suspended for one match.