Holders Floriana suffer shock exit from Izibet FA Trophy

Holders Floriana were eliminated from the Izibet FA Trophy as they lost 0-1 to Santa Lucia at the Tony Bezzina Stadium in a match from the Round of 16.

Robert Hehedosh scored the all-important goal for Santa Lucia who will now meet Marsaxlokk in the next round.

Meanwhile in other matches from the Round of 32, Hamrun Spartans struggled far more than expected as they defeated Gozitan side Ghajnsielem 3-1 after extra-time at the Gozo Stadium.

Steve Borg missed a penalty for the Spartans on the 13th minute with Patrick dos Santos Cruz converting a penalty for the Blacks to put them ahead. However on the 90th minute, Elvis Mashike levelled matters for Hamrun to force extra-time.

Fourteen minutes in the first half of extra-time, Ailton Jorge Soares put Hamrun ahead and Elvis Mashike sealed the issue with a third goal ten minutes in the second half of extra-time.

In the Round of 16, Hamrun Spartans will be facing Valletta.

Valletta, in fact, survived an early scare to turn defeat into victory as they beat Amateur League side Zabbar St. Patrick 5-1 at the Centenary Stadium.

David Oliveira Souza put the Saints ahead on the 5th minute but Kilian Bevis equalised on the 19th and two minutes from the end of the first half, Federico Falcone put Valletta 2-1 ahead. Shaun Dimech increased the lead one minute in the second half with Andrea Zammit scoring twice – on the 58th and 67th.

Gudja United also came from behind to beat Challenge League side Naxxar Lions 2-1 at the Centenary Stadium.

Robinson Blandon Rendon put Naxxar ahead on the 28th but Matias Muchardi equalised six minutes later and five minutes in the second half, Vito Plut converted a penalty to put Gudja in the next stage.

In the Round of 16, Gudja will be facing Sirens.

At the Tony Bezzina Stadium, a goal by Jefferson de Assis on the 6th minute and a Gabriel Bohrer Mentz penalty on the 63rd handed Gzira United a 2-0 win over Challenge League leaders Sliema Wanderers.

In the next round, Gzira United will be facing Gozitan side Qala Saints.

At the Victor Tedesco Stadium, Pieta’ Hotspurs defeated Gozitan side Xewkija Tigers 2-0 thanks to goals by Yuto Morita on the 41st and the 61st.

The Hotspurs will face San Gwann in the next stage.

San Gwann, in fact, defeated Amateur League side Mgarr United 3-1.

Daniel Sowatey put San Gwann ahead on the 8th minute and Tobi Akiti doubled the score on the 20th. Christian Saint Ebisindor reduced the gap on the half hour but Daniel Sowatey made it 3-1 on the 62nd

Mosta defeated Challenge League side Melita 3-0 at the Centenary Stadium.

The Blues will be facing Swieqi United in the next round.

In fact, Challenge League side Swieqi United eliminated Zebbug Rangers, defeating them 1-0 at the Centenary Stadium.

Jean Borg scored the all-important goal five minutes from time.

Balzan, Birkirkara, Gudja United, Gzira United, Hamrun Spartans, Hibernians, Marsaxlokk, Mosta, Pieta’ Hotspurs, Santa Lucia, Sirens and Valletta, Challenge League sides San Gwann and Swieqi United and Gozitan sides Kercem Ajax and Qala Saints will be playing in the Round of 16.

The Round of 16 clashes will be as follows:

Santa Lucia vs Marsaxlokk
Balzan vs Birkirkara
Valletta vs Hamrun Spartans
Gzira United vs Qala Saints
Mosta vs Swieqi United
Gudja United vs Sirens
Pieta’ Hotspurs vs San Gwann
Hibernians vs Kercem Ajax

Round of 16 matches will be played on February 7, 8 and 9. The quarter-finals are scheduled for February 24-26, the semi-finals for April 25-26 and the final for April 30.

>> Izibet FA Trophy Fixtures & Results