Twelve Premier League clubs, three women’s teams apply for UEFA licence

By the deadline of January 31st, 2023, the Malta FA has received applications from twelve Premier League clubs and three women’s teams for a UEFA club licence.

A UEFA licence is necessary for participation in a UEFA competition. Malta is represented by one team in the UEFA Champions League, three teams in the UEFA Europa Conference League and one team in the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

The Premier League clubs who applied are Balzan, Birkirkara, Floriana, Gudja United, Gzira United, Hamrun Spartans, Hibernians, Marsaxlokk, Mosta, Santa Lucia, Sirens and Valletta. Therefore the only teams who opted not to apply were Pieta’ Hotspurs and Zebbug Rangers.

Birkirkara FC, Hibernians FC and Swieqi United FC, on the other hand, applied for a licence for their women’s teams.