Izibet FA Trophy: Gzira through to semi-finals after penalty shoot-out

Gzira United were the first team to secure a place in the semi-finals of the IZIBET FA Trophy as they scored deep into stoppage-time to force extra-time and beat Gudja United on penalties at the Centenary Stadium on Saturday.

The Maroons had earlier defeated Sliema Wanderers 2-0 and Qala Saints 3-0 in the previous rounds. 

Gudja took the lead on 29 minutes when off a cross by Matias Muchardi from the right the ball was deflected, ending at the feet of Vito Plut who hit home from close range.

However four minutes in added time, following a corner from the right, Nikolai Muscat beat goalkeeper Glenn Zammit with a powerful shot from the edge of the area. 

The match went into extra-time and with no goals being scored, the penalty shoot-out had to decide the issue.

Hubert Vella and Maxuell Maia missed the first two for Gudja and Gzira respectively. Irisio Kolf Divaio, Andre Prates and Mathias Muchardi scored for Gudja and Marko Cosic, Gabriel Bohrer and Jefferson did the same for Gzira. James Arthur missed the fifth penalty for Gudja and Nikolai Muscat converted to put the Maroons in the semi-finals. 

GZIRA Darijan Zarkov, Gabriel Bohrer, Luke Tabone, Steve PIsani (69′ Brooklyn Borg), Zachary Scerri (63′ Nikolai Muscat), Marcelo Dias (106′ Andrew Borg), Luis Carlos Riascos (63′ Jose Costa Silva Ewertton), Toni Kolega, Marko Cosic, Maxuell Maia, Jefferson de Assis.

GUDJA Glenn Zammit, Juan Bolanos, Andre Prates, Tatsuro Nagamatsu (88′ Farid Romero Zuniga), Vito Plut (99′ Kolf Divaio Irisio), James Arthur, Karl Micallef, Hubert Vella, Neil Tabone (77′ Neil Anthony Micallef), Matias Muchardi, Nicolas Navarrete (90+2′ Shaisen Attard).

Referee: Slobodan Petrovic

Assistant Referees: Luke Portelli, James Muscat

Fourth Official: Philip Farrugia

>> Izibet FA Trophy Fixtures & Results