Izibet Amateur League: Gharghur move third in Group B

Gharghur moved third in Group B of the Izibet Amateur League as they defeated Siggiewi 3-1 at the Luxol Stadium on Saturday.

Erik Pietribiasi put Gharghur ahead on the 12th minute and three minutes later, Jayden Aquilina doubled the score. Pietribiasi converted a penalty two minutes in the second half with Tyrone Grech reducing the gap for Siggiewi on the 72nd minute.

Luqa St. Andrew’s were held in a 1-1 draw by Ghaxaq in another match at the Luxol Stadium. Alan Abdelrahman put Luqa ahead on the 31st but Dusan Petrovic converted a penalty to level matters three minutes from the end of the first half.

An own goal on the 31st minute and a goal by Rudy Cassar on the 38th handed St. George’s a 2-0 win over Dingli Swallows at the Sirens Stadium.

Msida lead the way with 39 points, followed by Rabat on 31, Gharghur 30, Luqa 29, Kirkop and St. George’s 23, Ghaxaq 19, Siggiewi 12, Dingli 8 and Mdina 6.

Meanwhile in Group A, Kalkara United defeated Sta. Venera Lightnings 3-1 at the Sirens Stadium. Jean Paul Formosa put Kalkara ahead on the 6th. Yuya Emura equalised on the 35th but Luke Farrugia made it 2-1 for Kalkara and one minute from time, Formosa converted a penalty to extend the lead.

>> Izibet Amateur League Fixtures, Results, Tables and Scorers