Izibet Amateur League: Gharghur join Rabat Ajax in second place

Gharghur joined Rabat Ajax in second place in Group B of the Izibet Amateur League following a 1-1 draw with Luqa St. Andrew’s in a clash between the two teams lying in third and fourth place at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Samuel Agius put Gharghur ahead on the 46th but Mario Jude Dominicus equalised three minutes later.

Kirkop United defeated Mdina Knights 7-0 at the Centenary Stadium. Kirkop went three goals ahead within the first eight minutes thanks to a brace by Dale Tabone on the 2nd and the 7th and Isaac Abela on the 8th. Dale Tabone converted a penalty three minutes before the end of the first half and on the restart, Benjamin Battistino extended the lead on the hour. Isaac Abela added another on the 72nd with Battistino scoring a seventh goal seven minutes later.

St. George’s beat Siggiewi 2-1 at the Sirens Stadium thanks to a goal by Nestor Luis Silva on the 11th and an Aaron Agius penalty on the 33rd with Ronaldo Esteban Begambre Jaramillo reducing the gap on the 67th.

In another match, Dingli Swallows held group winners Msida St. Joseph in a 1-1 draw at the Centenary Stadium. Matthew Pace put Dingli ahead on the 65th but Giovanni Galea equalised five minutes from time.

Msida lead the way with 40 points, followed by Gharghur and Rabat on 31, Luqa 30, Kirkop and St. George’s 26, Ghaxaq 22, Siggiewi 12, Dingli 9 and Mdina 6.

Meanwhile in a match from Group A, a brace by Christian Saint Ebisindor on the 15th and 72nd handed Mgarr United a 2-0 win over Birzebbuga St. Peter’s at the Centenary Stadium.

Senglea lead the way with 53 points followed by Zabbar on 48, Mgarr 47, Kalkara 33, Xghajra 29, Birzebbuga 28, Qormi 19, Pembroke 18, Mellieha 16, Sta. Venera 14 and Ta’ Xbiex 1.

>> Izibet Amateur League Fixtures, Results, Tables and Scorers