Marcolini names final squad ahead of North Macedonia, Italy clashes

The Head Coach of the National Teams Michele Marcolini has trimmed down the squad to 24 players, ahead of the two EURO 2024 qualifiers that will see the national team play away against North Macedonia this Thursday and on Sunday on home soil against Italy.     

Head Coach Marcolini had selected 31 players at the beginning of this training camp ahead of these games.   

He held on to Gżira’s Luke Tabone who was called up for the first time and Yannick Yankam who had not formed part of the national team in the recent months. 

The 24-man team is made up of the following players:


Henry Bonello (Hamrun Spartans FC), Cain Formosa (Valletta FC), Matthew Grech (Sirens FC).

Ferdinando Apap (Hibernians FC), Luke Tabone (Gzira FC), Steve Borg (Hamrun Spartans FC), Karl Micallef (Gudja United), James Brown (St. Johnston FC – SCO), Zach Muscat (Farense – POR). 

Juan Corbalan (Hamrun Spartans FC), Ryan Camenzuli (Hamrun Spartans FC), Matthew Guillaumier (Hamrun Spartans FC), Cain Attard (Birkirkara FC), Nikolai Muscat (Gzira United), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians FC), Brandon Diego Paiber (Valletta FC), Yannick Yankam (Birkirkara FC), Teddy Teuma (R.U. Saint Gilloise – BEL), Joseph Mbong (Hamrun Spartans FC).

Shaun Dimech (Valletta FC), Jodi Felice Jones (Notts Country – ENG), Kyrian Nwoko (Santa Lucia FC), Paul Mbong (Birkirkara FC), Alexander Satariano (Balzan FC).

Malta kicks-off the EURO 2024 qualifying campaign with an away match against North Macedonia on Thursday 23rd March in National Arena Todor Proeski – Skopje at 20:45.  On Sunday 26th March, Malta meets Italy at the National Stadium in Ta’ Qali (kick-off 20:45).