Late goals hand Birkirkara Izibet FA Trophy

Birkirkara left it till late to score twice to beat Marsaxlokk 2-0 in the final of the Izibet FA Trophy at the National Stadium on Sunday. 

The Stripes therefore ended the season on a high after taking the runner-up spot in the BOV Premier League. This was the sixth FA Trophy in the history of the club.

Since Birkirkara had already qualified for European football, the decider between Balzan and Hibernians in programme on Monday will determine the third team to participate in the UEFA Europa Conference League along with Birkirkara and Gzira United.

Giovanni Tedesco’s side held the upper hand throughout the ninety minutes but the Southseasiders continued where they had left in the semi-final against Gzira United on Tuesday, giving a very good account of themselves.

Birkirkara finally managed to break the deadlock thirteen minutes from time when off a Denis Custodio Ribeiro corner from the left, Simon Zibo served Yannick Yankam whose delivered a cross from the left for Osvaldo Iorio to hit home from close range.

Five minutes from time, the Stripes sealed the issue with a second goal when Osvaldo Iorio entered the area from the right and squared low for Enzo Daniel Cabrera but the ball was deflected by Claudio Bonanni past Drobnjak for an own goal.

After the game, captain Enrico Pepe was presented with the Izibet FA Trophy by MFA President Bjorn Vassallo.

>> Birkirkara vs Marsaxlokk match card