Marcolini trims squad to twenty six players

As the anticipation for Malta’s September international commitments continues to build, the national team’s preparations are in full swing. The initial squad, carefully curated to represent the best of Maltese football talent, has now been trimmed to 26.

In the latest update, the national team head coach Michele Marcolini has taken the necessary steps to finalize the squad for the upcoming challenges.

Rashed Al Tumi (Sliema Wanderers FC), Jake Vassallo (Mosta FC), Karl Micallef (Gudja United FC), Shaun Dimech (Valletta FC) and Kurt Zammit (Birkirkara FC) did not make it to the final squad.

Malta plays Gibraltar in an international friendly match next Wednesday 6th September at the National Stadium in Ta’ Qali (kick-off 20:00).  Malta will then face North Macedonia which is the next EURO 2024 Qualifier to be held on home grounds on Tuesday 12th September (kick-off 20:45).

On Monday, these 26 players, including those who ply their trade outside of Malta, will converge at a hotel to begin their preparations in earnest.

The 26-man squad is as follows:

Henry Bonello (Hamrun Spartans FC), Matthew Grech (Zabbar St Patrick’s FC), Jake Galea (Valletta FC)

Steve Borg (Hamrun Spartans FC), Zach Muscat (Farense – POR), Enrico Pepe (Birkirkara FC), Kurt Shaw (Hibernians FC), Jean Borg (Sliema Wanderers FC), Cain Attard (CF Os Belenenses – POR)

Juan Corbalan (Hamrun Spartans FC), Ryan Camenzuli (Hamrun Spartans FC), Adam Magri Overend (Floriana FC), Steven Pisani (Santa Lucia FC), Matthew Guillaumier (FKS Stal Mielec Spolka Akcyjna – POL), Nikolai Muscat (Marsaxlokk FC), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians FC), Brandon Diego Paiber (Valletta FC), Yannick Yankam (Birkirkara FC), Teddy Teuma (Stade de Reims FC), Jake Grech (Balzan FC), Joseph Essien Mbong (Hamrun Spartans FC)

Jurgen Degabriele (Hibernians FC), Jodi Felice Jones (Notts County – ENG), Kyrian Nwoko (Floriana FC), Paul Mbong (Birkirkara FC), Luke Montebello (Hamrun Spartans)