Woods names provisional squad for Belgium, Scotland clashes

Malta’s under 21 national football team is gearing up for two international fixtures in October, and U21 NT Coach Ivan Woods has selected a provisional 29 man squad today.  With home turf advantage, Malta is set to face Belgium on the 13th of October, followed by an away match against Scotland on the 17th of October.  Both games are qualifiers for the Under 21 Championship.  The 29-man squad, features two new additions and noteworthy returns.

Among the newcomers, Alfie Bridgman has caught the attention of Coach Woods. Having previously showcased his skills in the Under 19 tournament hosted in Malta, he is poised to make his mark on the Under 21 team. Another fresh face is Floriana’s Eman Micallef, whose inclusion adds depth and fresh talent to the squad.

Meanwhile, the squad sees the return of Isaac Cutajar from Pietà Hotspurs and Nathan Agius from Mosta. Although they were not part of the team in the previous international window under Coach Woods, they have previous experience representing the Under 21 squad under different coaching regimes.

The provisional squad is as follows:

GOALKEEPERS – Dylan Ciappara (Mosta FC), Reeves Cini (Pietá Hotspurs FC), Matthias Debono (Naxxar Lions FC), Hugo Sacco (Eastern New Mexico Univ. – USA).

DEFENDERS – Matthew Ellul (Żabbar St.Patrick FC), Zean Leonardi (Pietá Hotspurs FC), Mattias Ellul (Santa Lucia FC), Owen Spiteri (Floriana FC), Isaac Cutajar (Pietá Hotspurs FC), Eman Micallef (Floriana FC)

MIDFIELDERS – Jake Micallef (Leixoes S.C. – POR) Kurt Bondin (Żebbuġ Rangers FC), Matthew Debattista (Melita FC), Andrew Borg (Gżira United FC), Nick Cutajar (Melita FC), Nathan Agius (Mosta FC), Gianluca Sciberras (Mosta FC), Aleandro Garzia (Floriana FC), Kurt Briffa (Pietá Hotspurs FC), Karl Mohnani (Melita FC), Benjamin Hili (Balzan FC), Nikolai Micallef ((Naxxar Lions FC).

FOWARDS – Jamie Carbone (Santa Lucia FC), Alfie Bridgman (Eastbourne Borough FC – UK), Mattia Veselji (Floriana FC), Andrea Zammit (ACR Messina – ITA), Jake Engerer (Sliema Wanderers FC), Jed Valletta (Santa Lucia FC), Brooklyn Borg (Gżira United FC).