IZIBET Amateur League: Marsaskala take sole leadership in Group B

Marsaskala are the only team with maximum points from three matches in Group B of the IZIBET Amateur League as they defeated Ta’ Xbiex 4-1 at the Sirens Stadium on Sunday.

Nobukatsu Tsuchiya put Marsaskala ahead on the 20th and eight minutes from the end of the first half, Joshua Micallef doubled the score. Stefi Cale pulled one back on the 63rd but Tsuchiya added another on the 78th and Tyron Hili scored a fourth goal four minutes in added time.

At the Centenary Stadium, Qormi defeated St. George’s 5-2. Nigel Borg put Qormi ahead on the 6th minute but two minutes later, an own goal enabled St. George’s to level matters and Emmanuel Mbong even put them 2-1 ahead. After St. George’s had a player sent off, Gary Bugeja equalised on the 75th and Sheldon Seychell made it 3-2 two minutes later. Jake Borg and Jayden Borg scored another two goals on the 88th and 93rd respectively.

Gharghur came back from two goals down to earn their first point in a 2-2 draw with Mgarr United at the Sirens Stadium. Jurgen Grech put Mgarr ahead on the 7th minute and Kyle Frendo doubled the score on the 38th. However Owen Magri reduced the gap on the 50th and Mark Cutajar equalised on the 69th.

Kirkop United beat Vittoriosa Stars 2-1 at the Luxol Stadium. Neil Friggieri handed Kirkop the lead on the 58th and although Larens Vella equalised two minutes later, Ryan Dalli notched the winner four minutes in added time.

In another match at the Luxol Stadium, Dingli Swallows earned their first point in a goalless draw with San Gwann.

Marsaskala lead the way with 9 points, followed by Qormi and San Gwann on 7, Mgarr and Kirkop 4, St. George’s and Ta’ Xbiex 3, Gharghur and Dingli 1, Vittoriosa and Ghaxaq 0.

>> IZIBET Amateur League Fixtures, Results & Tables