Woods names final Under-21 squad for Belgium, Scotland qualifiers

The Malta Under-21 national coach Ivan Woods has trimmed his provisional squad thereby announcing his final 22-man selection for the double fixture rolling, against Belgium this Friday at the Tony Bezzina Stadium, kick-off at 18:00h, followed up with the first away fixture on Tuesday against Scotland in Motherwell, kick-off at 19:30 CET.

A brief squad overview sees the selection of Daniel Letherby and Alfie Bridgman who are available to make their U21 debut. For both, this is their first call up having been a significant part of the U19 squad that took part in the UEFA U19 European Championship final phase in Malta earlier this year.

Dylan Ciappara will team up with Matthias Debono and Hugo Sacco as the team of three shot-stoppers for the matches coming up.

Mosta defender Jake Vassallo was left out of the provisional squad due to his call-up with the National Senior Team, whereby shifted to the Under-21 squad for these two Qualifying matches to gain more experience at this level and further enhance his development.

Also, a pleasant return in this final cut for Isaac Cutajar after missing out in the last three outings for this selection, in defeats against North Macedonia (friendly), and opening Qualifying Group B matches in the international window last month (September), on home soil against Spain and Hungary.

Malta U21 Final squad selection:-

Goalkeepers – Dylan Ciappara (Mosta FC), Matthias Debono (Naxxar Lions FC), Hugo Sacco (Eastern New Mexico University).

Defenders – Matthew Ellul (Żabbar St. Patrick FC), Zean Leonardi (Pieta’ Hotspurs FC), Mattias Ellul (Santa Lucia FC), Owen Spiteri (Floriana FC), Jake Vassallo (Mosta FC), Isaac Cutajar (Pieta’ Hotspurs FC).

Midfielders – Jake Micallef (Leixoes), Kurt Bondin (Żebbuġ Rangers FC), Daniel Letherby (Eastern New Mexico University), Andrew Borg (Gżira United FC), Gianluca Sciberras (Mosta FC), Aleandro Garzia (Floriana FC), Karl Mohnani (Melita FC), Nikolai Micallef (Naxxar Lions FC).

Forwards – Jamie Carbone (Santa Lucia FC), Alfie Bridgman (Eastbourne Borough), Mattia Veselji (Floriana FC), Andrea Zammit (Messina Calcio), Jake Engerer (Sliema Wanderers FC).