Malta women cruise past Andorra to maintain perfect record

The Malta women’s national team made it three wins out of three as they defeated Andorra 5-0 in a match from Group C1 of the UEFA Women’s Nations League at the Centenary Stadium on Friday.

Malta therefore stays firmly on top with nine points, three ahead of Latvia.

The locals took the lead on the 17th minute when off a cross by Ann-Marie Said from the left, Haley Bugeja headed home past goalkeeper Luna Vazquez.

Six minutes later, Stephania Farrugia doubled the score, beating the Andorra goalkeeper from close range following another assist by Said.

Photo courtesy of domenic aquilina

Malta went close to scoring a third goal two minutes later but Ylenia Carabott was unlucky to hit the crossbar and one minute from the end of the first half, an Alishia Sultana effort was deflected with particular difficulty by the goalkeeper into a corner.

One minute in the seocnd half, Malta incerased the lead courtesy of Haley Bugeja whose rising shot from the left gave Vazquez no chance.

Malta scored the fourth goal on 74 minutes when off an assist by Rachel Cuschieri, Maria Farrugia rounded the goalkeeper before placing the ball at the back of the net.

Three minutes later, Rachel Cuschieri extended the lead further when Malta was awarded a penalty after a defender had handled the ball inside the area and her attempt from the penalty spot was partially saved by the goalkeeper with the Sampdoria midfielder hitting home off the rebound.

Malta will be in action once again on Tuesday, facing Andorra at the Estadi Nacional in Andorra La Vella.

MALTA Janice Xuereb, Ann-Marie Said, Emma Lipman (78’ Charlene Zammit), Stephania Farrugia, Ylenia Carabott (59’ Maria Farrugia)), Rachel Cuschieri, Alishia Sultana (59’ Kailey Willis), Brenda Borg (71’ Shona Zammit), Emma Xuereb (46’ Jessica Lee Dimech), Nicole Sciberras, Haley Bugeja.

ANDORRA Luna Vazquez, Maria Moles (59’ Laura Borja Martin), Neus Rosas, Laia Sin (71’ Noa Gallinat Civico), Sonia Del Barco (46’ Miriam Tizon Fernandez), Maria Da Cruz, Marina Muelas, Mariua Ruzafa, Erica Goncalves (71’ Teresa Armengol), Paula Marques, Ina Dominguez (46’ Gemma Lluch Camin).

Referee: Meliz Ozcigdem (TUR)